We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice for a stop of while wandering through Parnell”
Review of Patisserie Vaniye

Patisserie Vaniye
Ranked #2 of 37 Bakeries in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Description: Vaniye is a Contemporary luxury Parisian style Patisserie in Parnell. We’re passionate about the refined art of delicate desserts, bringing you a new sensory experience starting from visual presentation through to the intense aromas and flavours from our quality ingredients.Complimentary to our fine desserts, we serve organic Kokako coffee, Harney&Sons tea, and our home made Valrhona hot chocolate. We welcome you to our boutique where our hôte/hôtesse will personally guide you through our many culinary delights. Vaniye is the sweet side of fine dining.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice for a stop of while wandering through Parnell”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stopped by here while wandering through Parnell after hearing a few glowing reviews, had a nice coffee, but the Macarons were a touch soggy and not full of flavour as well as a little too sweet from the Macarons I am used to. Service was good, very friendly and very informed on their products.
Chose a gateaux which I can't now recall but there wasn't much texture, just spongy, and mousse with no crunch or something to cut through the creaminess.
Worth a visit for sure, maybe I just chose the wrong items.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auckcitydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bit over-rated”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The cakes in this place look amazing, and the savoury tarts look pretty good too. I only had a tea and an almond croissant so can only comment on those. Tea was great, nice range to choose from. Almond croissant was really not very good - cooked in far too much fat so the texture was all wrong.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 444Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia H, Owner at Patisserie Vaniye, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Laura,
We usually always have excellent feedback on our croissants and in particular the croissants d'amande. I'm sorry to hear you personally didn't enjoy as much. We use traditional French recipe of real almond cream mixture, using pure butter of highest quality (not margerine), and bake them until golden, flaky and crisp instead of soft. If you are looking for a product with less butter, I would recommend perhaps the traditional croissants instead of the croissants d'amande, or we can help you choose a dessert which would appeal most to your personal preferences.
Warm regards
Owner & Chef Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Patisserie and Macarons”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place is a hidden gem with delicious desserts that are authentic and fresh. They are always helpful and their food will be sure to meet your expectations and more! Their macarons are amazing!!

I highly recommend people to visit :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best patisserie in Auckland”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Finally an authentic french patisserie. The best in town, although competition is not too hard. Hope an italian patisserie will open sooner or later...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pastry masterpieces”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The choice might not be the biggest. But that's an advantage. The pastries they serve are very nice looking, perfectly precise and on top really delicious. Very good pastry craftsman- or woman -ship!

Helpful?
1 Thank martinzehnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Vaniye also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Patisserie Vaniye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing