We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and free cider as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Longroom

Longroom
Ranked #253 of 2,227 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and free cider as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had a much better experience this time around as we had a different choice of food. We shared a couple of different pizzas and chips (we were hungry) this time and very enjoyable it was too. Quite filling, very sensibly priced and left alone to chat and pass the time of day. We were also told if you send a text message to a particular number that will give you a voucher for a free bottle of cider. Did that and as promised got the cider totally free. Bargain.

We will return again now that we have had our faith restored in one of the best restaurants on Ponsonby Road. May even try the night life next time but happy at lunchtime.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiderMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good bar, sometimes quite a queue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a nice place to stop by, especially if you want to have a few drinks outside by the heaters. It gets pretty busy on the weekends, so would suggest pitching there a little earlier to avoid the queues.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good, but not quite as good as previous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have been here several times before and never been disappointed. This visit, maybe we chose the wrong thing to eat as it was nowhere near as enjoyable as previous visits. We will return again of course and hope this was just a blip on our part and not the restaurant as a whole. I will judge next time we go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CiderMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing and consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

You know how a subtly good place just sneaks up on you and before you know it, you realise you go there just a bit much - but its good....and reliable.... and familiar.

The Long Room is pretty eclectic....its does a quiet business lunch, early dinner and then turns in to a party spot at night. There are big screens for sport when required, good food when you want it as tasting plates or full meals, outdoor and indoor, private function room, and adult late nights.... but it works.

The Venue - nice mix of indoor or courtyard, bar stool or seated table. Later it rocks (so Im told) and you can even catch a game. They have some customer parking but im not sharing because its limited.

The Food - I have to say its really good and hearty, the lunch menu is seriously well priced for good food ($10, $15, $20 plates). One of the $10 plates will fill you and the service and atmosphere makes it a better option than even subway. The pork belly rocks and the meatballs are fab. Its quiet enough (and not overcrowded) that I would recommend any business meeting and they have free wifi.

The Service - everyone is pretty friendly and nice. The senior staff keep an eye on things and If i had a complaint the junior staff forget to serve sometimes.

The Drinks - great selection, some special spirits, the wine is good but nothing compelling!

So I would say .... go here. Relax and enjoy. If you arent happy grab the maitre'd = he knows what he is doing and cares about a good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZ-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another bar in Ponsonby?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a friend in August. Neat and chic modern deco, friendly waiting staff but food and beverage menu offer average range of choices, nothing special or interesting. Good place to drop in for after-walk drinks or a casual catch-up with a friend, but not the place if you are looking for a sensational outing.

Helpful?
Thank NoMadLady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longroom also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Longroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing