We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longroom

Longroom
Ranked #273 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A fabulous spot. Really nice tapas and great tasting platters. Excellent selection of wines and attentive service. A great spot for a Sunday brunch too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food. Great feel. Service Good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a scrumptuous meal to celebrate my wife's birthday with my three teenage daughters (16-20yrs). The restaurant had a buzz to it, even on a Wednesday night. The meals were all great and very very tasty. And the cocktails and mocktails were yummy too. The service was a bit slow but always polite and attentive, so really only a very minor issue. Young people serving so suited us well. Value for money - not too bad. We were able to use an entertainment book voucher which helped a bit. I can imagine The Longroom would be a place to be on a Fri or Sat night. Recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good service. Great pork sliders. nice beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Moa beer on tap ...awesome. 3 yummy pork sliders for $10...really nice. Attentive service...great spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grapsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bar is fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Got to Auckland and found this place on Tuesday. The bar tender Jill was very friendly and helpful. The real service started when Youn Hatrisson (aka Harry potter) showed up What a great kid. Very helpful and went out of his way for us. He even offered to bar tend at a BBQ we hosted for a group of fifty. We accepted and ge worked for tips. Did not charge us at ll. The bar itself gets slammed on Tursday and Friday nights around ten at night. Very nice place if you are looking for upscale nightlife!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
471 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excellent quality tapas and good drinks on tap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a great summer's afternoon at the Longroom on Ponsonby Rd, nestled out the back on the wide verandah in the shade.

The food is really a standard above what you would normally expect to find in a bar/bistro - the tapas are first rate - beautifully presented and very tasting (smoked salmon, mini chicken fajitas etc).

There's a good range of beers and cider on tap and the Longroom has great atmosphere. There's plenty of space if you're bring kids along (although our daughter slept in her pram so we didn't actually check the menu with our 'parents' eyes!)

I would certainly stop here again if we're ever back on Ponsonby Rd again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longroom also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Longroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing