We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An easy day trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hauraki Gulf

Hauraki Gulf
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.87*
and up
Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruise
Ranked #26 of 255 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area comprises 47 islands, the most popular of which is Waiheke for its excellent beaches and bays.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An easy day trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Took Fuller's one and one half hour island tour that included the ferry ride back and forth to Waiheke Island. This was a really good overview of the island and gave us a chance to see many beaches and the other islands around. We stopped at Palm Beach, it's a mile long and got out and walked around for twenty minutes
NGO the beach during free time. You can go right back to ferry at the end of the tour or be let off in Matiata. The tour company will stop there once an. Hour and pick you up and take you to the ferry. There are many beautiful beaches that a car seems necessary to access. This is an easy day trip if you are tired and still want to get out. The bay and islands are incredible!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nipowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    54
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Waikehe Island - A Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had read so many glowing reports about Waikehe Island so included it in our itinerary but were very disappointed!

The best part of our day was the three hours spent on a 50 foot sailboat, the Pride of Auckland, sailing from Auckland to Waikehe Island. We purchased an offer we saw on GrabOne = $42.00 per person for sailing over and Fuller Ferry back. This cost was just a few dollars more than a round trip on Fullers ferry and what could be more appropriate than sailing in the "City of Sails"?

Sailing past various islands in the Hauraki Gulf was fun and upon arrival at Matiatia Wharf on Waikehe, we walked to Oneroa Village. This was our first disappointment.The village is grubby, dingy, dirty and run down and has horrendous shops -- one worse than another! They certainly do not compare to those we saw in Akaroa on Banks Peninsula. We then took a bus to Onetangi. Another disappointment. Yes, it has a sandy beach but nothing special and we have seen many better than this one in other parts of New Zealand. We then went to Stonyridge Vineyards and were totally unimpressed. We had traveled through Marlborough and this vineyard did not compare with those we visited there; but not wishing to give up, we went to Cable Bay Vineyards and once again were disappointed. While traveling from one venue to another we did indeed see lovely bays with lovely views but once again, not more spectular than many we have seen in other places in New Zealand.

We came to the conclusion that Waikehe Island would be the pefect destination for a tourist to visit if their New Zealand itinerary included only Auckland; however, if you have the opportunity to see other areas of this lovely country, forget Waikehe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank azulferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Waiheke island was is worth a day-trip. Nice scenery and beaches, nice places to have lunch and some great wineries to be visited

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Waiheke Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great hike around the northern shore from the ferry landing. Steep but the views were fantastic. Allow at least two hours and be careful along the cliffs. Also, watch the tides because you may have to wade back (or climb trees like we did) near the ferry beach at high tide.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where else in the world...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Can you get out at nine in the morning to see a dormant volcanic island, dolphins, stunning scenery and be back in time for a bit of shopping on a place like Queen St. We are so blessed to live in this land and Auckland's waters are just so captivating and paradise like, yet so close to the man made world. Stunning and it's my home town now!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hauraki Gulf also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Hauraki Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing