We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day Trip to Auckland Outskirts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waitakere Ranges

Waitakere Ranges
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.90*
and up
Half-Day Wild West Coast Tour from Auckland
Ranked #8 of 260 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic drive takes you past bush scenery, to observation points for spectacular views and to gorgeous beaches.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Auckland Outskirts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

User a travel company called "Bush and Beach." Very professional, nice small tour of 12 people. Great way to see more of the northern island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank The-Traveling-Snail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    161
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to the beauty of the North Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After being in Auckland for only 3 days, I decided to get out of city, somewhere fairly close as was leaving to go to Wellington the following day and was recommended this place. I wasn't disappointed. The first stop was a very quiet walk through forests which lead to a dam with stunning views of the river on one side and the valley and even further on the other. Also found a secluded waterfall and pool on the way and my first siting of the Tui, fantails and Tomtits. After here I drove to Piha beach which was beautiful with it's black sands, crystal waters and crumbling cliffs. Even saw a lone Oystercatcher sifting for morsels here :) Went further on into the ranges for an hour or so's walk through more forests with the native Kauri Pine dotted about it with a quite beautiful waterfall at the end. There are many more walks around these ranges but I didn't have the time to see it all. All in all, a very enjoyable first day out in NZ's nature for me :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank the1paulcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots to do, see, go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful place =) Beautiful walks, you can see NZ native birds, kauri trees, etc. fresh air and not far from Auckland city

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank outnaboutChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is an area of West Auckland that is really worth the effort of a visit. There is a good visitor centre and a hugeslection of bush walks, two or three day tramps and stunning coastal areas follwoing the Western coast line.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spend many hours in this area, as a Wedding Celebrant the people I take there are just saying all the time "This place is stunning", or this place is a gem, true nature at it's best, I agree my best weddings have been at the Karekare Waterfall or the beach, and Piha beach but the whole area is worth a visit.I had visitors from the USA just over they loved the area.
You do need a car, No bus services really, but you can get a tour bus called Beach and Bush I have not been on them but friends told me that it was really good.
Karekare has no shops, so take water and snacks with you, Piha has a couple of small shops and a Cafe, but I would take water with you.
Arataki Vistiors centre is very nice to call into on the way, sell Danish Ice creams here in the summer, great views and you can buy gifts here. no fee to get into this place.
The Waitakere Ranges makes for reasonable cost weddings, and even day trips in a car from downtown is less than an hour.
Both beaches offer black sand beaches and this makes them very hot to walk on in the summer...not good swimming beaches as the West coast beaches are surf beaches.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 288Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitakere Ranges also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Waitakere Ranges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing