We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Eden

Mount Eden
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour on Mount Eden
Ranked #7 of 260 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A trip up the highest volcanic peak in mainland Auckland offers striking views of the downtown area and harbor.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Did the museum at the top of Mount Eden. Very excellent cultural display, we witnessed our 1st. Hakka.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,418
    949
    137
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
575 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Great views of Auckland”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I used to live in Mt Eden many moons ago so know it well. A real landmark in Auckland and an absolute must if you want spectacular view over Auckland...weather permitting! It's always on our agenda for a touch of nostalgia when we visit NZ. The village itself is also worth a look. An eclectic mix of restaurants and shops and one f the best fish & chip shops you'll find anywhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
“360 panoramic views”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I took the blue ho ho bus to the Mt Eden, a guide was waiting there and he took us in a small shuttle up the Mt Eden, he also told us more about MT Eden volcano.

Mount Eden or Maungawhau is the highest volcano in Auckland city at 196 metres high. One significant feature is a large, well-preserved crater, some 50 metres deep, contained within the summit cone.
We had 360 degree spectacular panoramic views of Auckland, the volcanic cones were quite visible and it was good to look down at the crater.

It was sunny day and I spend 2 hours there watching people meditating, singing and admiring the views. I climbed down in five mins to the centre which has wash rooms.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grea view”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Unfortunately the day we went, it poured. But the view was so enticing, we braved the elements and got out of the car for a walk around the crater. It is enormous! The view on a drier day would be well worth the trip. And the café provided free touring maps - a great touch

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Views for Free!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Mount Eden was magical!!! It was a fair walk up to the summit, but definitely worth the effort once we got to the top! The view was incredible - better than what you pay to see from the Sky Tower in my opinion!
Definitely a must see in Auckland :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Eden also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mount Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing