We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, and bigger than average rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Towers
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, and bigger than average rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Reading reviews of a few years ago this place has obviously made big changes. Lucky I didnt read them before we booked for our friends to stay here recently. The building is in a L-shape making the back area quiet, and it is well maintained with plantings etc. If you remember the TV show Melrose Place then you will have an idea :o) . City Towers is in a great location for the great Newmarket shopping and eating area, which is just a couple of blocks away, and its an easy bus or drive in to the city. The staff said it's popular with out of town NZ'ers who need an Auckland base because of its proximity to the hospital, and you can see that because each room has its own kitchen it would be great as a base for longer stays. Clean, comfortable, nice staff, good value and lots of parking so handy especially if you are looking for a place to stay with your car in tow, in the inner suburbs of Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethejetfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
17
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

I'm from Wellington, New Zealand. If you are paying as we did NZ$90 per night (about US$60) then this makes up for the fact that the place is not so flash... but it really doesn't deserve the 3.5 stars Qualmark award it, more like 2.5 or 3 stars.

The place is clean, but somewhat older and hasn't been refurbished in a while. I don't think i'd choose to stay there again, although the people at the front desk were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and functional.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this review, May 29, 2008
City Towers has been under new management since October 2007. In that time each apartment has been re-painted and re-carpeted as well as re-stocked with new kitchen utensils. Car Parking is free and plentiful.
City Towers is patrolled by New Market Security through-out the night.

We are a 10 minute walk to Auckland Hospital and a 5 minute walk to New Market.

Please see our website for updated information and photos



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

Having looked at the City Towers web-site, (a piece of advertising that proudly displays salubrious looking and beautifully maintained \ equipped apartments), we were very confident we had made a good choice for our stay in Auckland. How wrong could we have been.......
The apartments are housed in an unwelcoming, poorly maintained, 3 storey L-shaped block, which has a design owing more to prison cells than a place for tourists to stay. However, the exterior is positively delightful compared to the interior! I arrived with some family members who had also reserved. They left in disgust after 5 minutes - fortunately they could as they live only a few hours away from Auckland. I had no such luxury of choice as I was part of a group of 19 people from the UK in Auckland for a rugby match and the whole city was booked out. There was no way we could have found alternative accommodation.
I had to move rooms twice before I could find one that I could bear to spend the night in, (i.e. one that had cleanish, unstained sheets). The apartments had clearly not been refurbished for decades. Peeling wallpaper, stained, threadbare carpets, ripped upholstery and an infestation of ants in the bathroom were just a few of the pleasures that we experienced at City Towers, (the pronounciation is far more appropriate if one replaces the c in City with sh). And this was in the room we moved to!
The staff could do nothing much for us as all the apartments are like this. Whilst they were not rude in any way, they were not particularly helpful either. Having taken NZD100 per room per night under false pretences, I was less than impressed when reception phoned my room at 1 minute past check out time and asked for NZD15 late check out charge!
I had dealt personally with the manageress when making the booking and when I met her, I perceived a clear sense of embarrassment from her on the basis that she knew she had sold us a red-herring, (i.e. the web-site and brochure do not match the reality in any way whatsoever). Although this may also have had something to do with my uncle telling her in no uncertain terms exactly how poor her apartments are.....
We subsequently found out from various taxi drivers that the place frequently changes names, which obviously confuses tourists and keeps a fresh supply of mugs rolling in. Do not stay here under any circumstances. It is appalling - I would probably turn my nose up at this place if I was homeless and looking for a bed for the night.
The address is as follows so hopefully, if and when they do change their name again in the near future, people may still find these reviews - they can't change their address:
2 Maungawhau Road
Newmarket
Auckland
New Zealand
I will also be contacting the Auckland Tourist board to see if they can do anything about this place. It advertises itself as 4 star - this might be applicable on a ranking scale for dosshouses, but certainly not for tourists.
The only good thing I can say about it is it is relatively central and Newmarket has a lot of restaurants and shops. Other than that, it would be no loss to the NZ tourist industry whatsoever if this place was bulldozed to the ground.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCDORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2005

We were so dissapointed with these apartments. After having stayed in such lovely aoartments and Hotels in Sydney, Auckland gave us an unwelcome with these run down apartments. It seems the owners had never really bothred to maintain this place and rooms were really really aged and tired. The location was not too bad and we were kind of oing just by their website as all the hotels in the city centre did not offer free parking as this one. The reception staff were unprofessional and although helpful , they did not really about the well being of guests. Although these were serviced apartments, our room did not et cleaned until 5 P.M on one day and on complaining to the reception we were not given any helpful answers and nor could we even find any cleaners. Bathroom was terrible and shower cubicle was weird with a metal silver floor and walls making the place cold as ever in the mornings and shower spout was so low that we had to spout to take a shower!!! talk about being in the dark ages.
I am amazed that the standards were so low and even more surprised not to find any reviews on tripadvisor. We hope that with our review travellers will have some additional information about city towers than what we had to start off with.
The price we paid for the room per night was a total rip off and money down the drain.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Towers

Property: City Towers
Address: 2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, City Towers is a short trip away to Auckand's CBD. A short stroll will also lead you to the vibrant Newmarket, which offers an abundance of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Public transport is plentiful within the area. City Towers provides a range of recently re-furbished units including Studio and Garden apartments with self contained kitchens, super king size beds, free car parking and Sky satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland
City Towers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing