We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of City Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Towers
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Staff were very welcoming and obliging and were more than happy to help. In a great location - very close to shops, the supermarket and the Hospital. Very clean & tidy, comfortable and well equiped. Also very handy parking.

Room Tip: Ground floor is extra spacious and more accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at City Towers and found the place to be very comfortable, clean and spacious. The location is an added bonus being right off the motorway and close to shops, supermarkets and Auckland Hospital. The parking is great, we were able to leave our car parked safely and use public transport which was a couple minutes walk away.
Overall we found the rooms to be comfortable and it was good to be able to cook in the self-contained kitchen.
We would happily recommend City Towers to anyone wanting a price-competitive stay in the heart of Newmarket.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I had a pleasant stay at City Towers. Staff were really friendly and nothing was a problem for them being more than happy to help me out. The room was clean and comfortable as well as being well equiped, having everything I needed during my stay very .
Close to public transport, shops and the hospital. Overall I enjoyed my stay at City Towers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyS151311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

During my stay here at City Towers the staff were always happy to help out. The room I was in was spacious, clean and was well equiped. The bed was so comfortable and I had a great sleep.
It was very welcoming to have the heater on upon check in which made the room very warm and inviting.
The free carparking was also a great help being so close to the hospital and Newmarket shops we could just leave the car at City Towers and walk everywhere without a problem.
I would defintely stay at City Towers again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Thank you to the staff and management of City Towers for making my recent overnight stay in Auckland comfortable and pleasant.
My room was spacious and well appointed - new carpet, new curtains, good quality kitchen utensils and new furnishings, including a very comfortable king size bed, good linen, plenty of pillows and I slept well!
Though I didn't use the outdoor garden area that was adjoining my room, it was a pleasant space that I think would be well utilised in the warmer months, and it was safely fenced for children to play. The large doors and windows out to the garden let in plenty of sunshine first thing in the morning.
I appreciated being able to leave my car parked at City Towers after checking out so I could attend a conference during the day at nearby Auckland Hospital within walking distance. Newmarket shopping and dining is only a short distance away also and City Towers is very easy to find coming off the Southern Motorway. I liked the idea of there being a washing machine in the apartment and if I was staying longer, I would have used this facility (unlikely to do so when the only choice is use of a communal laundry).
I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topsy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Bathroom needs repairs and updating broken tiles.The flush on the toilet also very dodgy. The pillows provided almost like waifers. Some staining on covers.The sofa and chairs very uncomfortable. However quiet for the centre of Auckland. If you are going to the hospital it is possible to pay a little more and be closer and in much better accomodation. As someone recovering from treatment I would not describe it as a home away from home it is quite missleading.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinaTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

All pillows have now been upgraded with positive reports. We are now using a new dry cleaning company that delivers much more effective results than the previous one used.

Units have received various improvements throughout this year and we are receiving good feedback from this. Being in a quiet location and a 12minute walk to the Auckland Hospital we believe City Towers is an ideal place for those recovering from treatment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Comparatively cheap accommodation, but this place has not been maintained for a long time. The photos on their site must be from the time of the last refurbishment, but that could have been years ago, and it is now rather run down. The back courtyard is now more like a rubbish dump, with rotten, broken fencing, tree stumps and a generally dirty appearance.

Old furniture and fittings that are broken and uncomfortable. Nasty stains on the bedspread and NO HOT WATER. There is no air conditioning and not even a fan to help circulate air.

The room was mostly clean and tidy but there are ants lurking just outside, waiting for you to drop a crumb, rotten woodwork and mold in many cracks.

The location is handy to shops, entertainment, the hospital and domain. It is also very close to the train and bus routes.

In summary, spend a few more dollars and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fartybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Courtyards have been sprayed for weeds and all trellis and woodwork cleaned. Gardeners are now working on improving the courtyards on a weekly basis.
It is pleasing to report that new bed side tables, dining tables and chairs have been added to the rooms. New shower plates and hoses have also replaced the old ones. Kitchens are now in the process of being upgraded, with five already been completed.
The Hot Water Cylinder was replaced and since we have experienced no problems with hot water. We have now switched dry cleaning companies as we were previously not getting effective results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland Central
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Towers

Address: 2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland Central, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, City Towers is a short trip away to Auckand's CBD. A short stroll will also lead you to the vibrant Newmarket, which offers an abundance of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Public transport is plentiful within the area. City Towers provides a range of recently re-furbished units including Studio and Garden apartments with self contained kitchens, super king size beds, free car parking and Sky satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland
City Towers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing