We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$284
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$134
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
28
21
11
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
21
11
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastb blovely hostsgreat locationnice place to stayhome from homeother guestscity centreparnellsuburbaucklandduvetproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 83 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My sister and I stayed at Chalet Chevron on arrival in Auckland August 9, 2008. We stayed two days then went to Rotorua, and came back for the third night on the 13th.
I had booked it directly based on reviews on Trip Advisor.

It was pretty much exactly like the reviewers had reported. We had a nice room with a view of the harbor. It is an older building, so some of the decor is older, but quite comfortable. They work on the building all the time and are refurbing it room by room.

They do charge extra for things (like the internet) , but on the other hand, they are quite happy to help you find things to do or even book accomodations at your next stop. You are also charged an extra $40 to check in a little early which was the strangest charge, but we were also given the third night free when we booked two. This was a winter rate. So it all comes out .

The first night there was one of the coldest nights and we were quite chilly, but after that night, the hosts turned the heat on earlier in the day for us and we were comfortable. You should know though that buildings in Auckland are not as insulated as you might be used to, so be sure and bring plenty of woolies if you come in winter.!

Parnell is a very nice boutique area of the city, pricey, but fun to walk around. My sister and I spent a good bit of time walking around it and found some wonderful restaurants and charming back walks and shops..

Breakfast is much better than just a continental at most hotels. They cook you eggs and bacon if you like and/or you have lots of other choices.

I would certainly recommend this nice little B & B to anyone coming in to Auckland. It is a good value in a nice location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sisterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We began a month long visit to NZ at Chalet Chevron. Arriving from our 12 hour flight in the morning we were told our room was available and if we wanted to check in early we could do so for an extra NZ$40! We stuck to our original plan of leaving our bags and returning in 4 hours to check in for no additional charges. What a difference it would have made to hear, "You are in luck as your room is vacant and we would be happy to check you in now!" We were also shocked to pay $10 for use of the internet when all we wanted to do was to use it briefly to let everyone know we had arrived safely and were told the fee was for all day use. We had a lovely room (bath needs updating) and delicious breakfasts. The neighborhood is great for restaurants and bus access is handy. You can also walk to the museum which was wonderful. We reserved judgment as this was our first stop in New Zealand, but after a month's travel we realized the aboved mentioned issues were only encountered at this location. We were welcomed warmly if early, spent a small fee for limited internet access (even had an honor jar or free in some cases) and had well maintained/updated baths in all locations. Chalet Chevron was our only disappointing stay.

Stayed: March 2008
3  Thank travlplnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here in March at the end of a month in a campervan touring NZ. It is a pleasant B&B in a good loacation in the suburb of Parnell. We were made welcome on our arrival and though arriving early our rooms were ready for us. The bedrooms are typical of a property of this age (some smaller than others) but ours was comfortable with a view of the sea. Breakfast is good with all the usual plus the bonus of a cooked breakfast of your choice. There is a comfortable sitting room with television and library though I thought the internet access was a bit pricey. It is only a short (uphill) walk to the main road in Parnell which is packed with boutiques, bars and restaraunts to suit all. It is also close to the bus stop for the short ride into the city centre. All in all a good place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wasSwrxp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The Chalet Chevron is a cute little B&B in the upscale neighborhood of Parnell. Location is great, with the hotel in walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hosts were welcoming and accomodating, and breakfast was perfectly satisfactory (don't expect gourmet cuisine). Our room had a terrific view of the hillsides and water, but the decor could use an update and the room itself was a little small. Overall a fine place to stay if your budget is midrange and you want a good location and comfortable lodgings.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Thanks Eileen and Mark, I had a fabulous few days at your hotel.

It was great to be back in Auckland and Chalet Chevron is so well located I did not hesitate to stay here again.

Travelling on my own, I really appreciated Mark and Eileens hospitality; genuine fun conversations, and great suggestions of what to do in Auckland, and how to get there. Getting around Auckland is easy from here with public transport in the street, and its so nice to walk just two minutes to Parnell with its many restaurants and wonderful shopping!

I loved the variety at breakfast and my cosy single room was exactly that, a great place to relax after a busy day with comfortable bed and a great shower!

Thanks again for a great stay, I look forward to next time.

Cheers
Paula

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank baylys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews