We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and let go at the Chalet Chevron B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I greatly appreciated the dedicated service and caring of the hosts of this great little hotel - Kelly and Barb. The love what they do and I found them excellent hosts. Everything I needed was provided - from bathroom bits and pieces and quality linens, to a wonderful choice of breakfast fare. Everything was very clean and comfortable. For the price, totally unbeatable. The hosts are real people who go out of their way to ensure your comfort.and provide inside information from long years of experience in the town - a gold mine of knowledge, stories and information. They simply couldn't have been more accommodating, courteous, friendly or obliging. N.B: Not for those who like the glamour and glitz and false smiles of 'professionals'. People like that would totally spoil the welcoming and family atmosphere of this beaut B & B. If you want clean, simple, straight forward, courteous service with excellent value, you couldn't go past the Chevron Chalet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

I had a very small room...nothing fancy, but clean. The location is good and it is easy to get from Parnell to other parts of Auckland via the LINK bus. The breakfasts were hearty and kept me going all day.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
Thank Mzary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Location is in Parnell, a trendy area of Auckland with neat restaurants within easy walking distance, and close to the docks for day trips. The hosts were extremely helpful with recommendations and information. Accommodiation is clean and comfortable, but basic. Rooms are a bit small and lack temperature control.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingsouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Comfortable B&B in Parnell. Rooms dated, but fairly typical for Auckland. This isn't Manhattan. Hosts went out of there way to be friendly and helpful. For our needs traveling with teenagers, this place was just fine. If you want a romantic spot, stay at the Huka Lodge in Lake Taupo. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prideofthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The upside about Chalet Chevron is the location in Parnell. The downside is pretty much everything else. It's a few minutes walk from the many restaurants in Parnell and from the bus-stop from which downtown Auckland is only a ten minute ride. The decor of our room was hopelessly dated, the room lacked any redeeming charm and space was at a premium. There was, however, a pleasing view from the room across Parnell to the bay and it was quiet. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and chilly and the fittings had not been updated for many many years. The TV must have been a cast-off with a barely discernible picture. Breakfast was poor. Another review has commented that the juice was "off". We must have had a similar batch about three months later. Butter/jam/honey came in tacky sachets. All the other B & B's we stayed in in NZ served these items in more elegant glass or china pots. My wife asked for just bacon for breakfast. She got the same two small rashers she would have got with the full cooked breakfast. On arrival there was no welcoming cup of tea (which we got elsewhere). It was the only place we stayed in NZ where we had to pay for wifi access. It was also the most expensive place we stayed in. We're sure Auckland can do better than this.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bougainvillle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Great location and inexpensive - 1920’s it sure is – no frills.
Hosts were friendly, breakfasts great although juice was “off”
If you aren't after luxury, don't mind dated decor, basic amenities, and small rooms - this "great little hotel" is fine - however it is not for a romantic getaway...We feel the advertising is misleading.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntipodeanFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Kelly and Cathy are devoted to caring for their guests. Great location in Parnell, LINK bus takes you everywhere, cooked English breakfast if you wish, spacious living/lounge area, where you can make yourself tea and coffee all day. They have great advice on the city and NZ, 10% discount for a week's stay, wi-fi throughout that works, The cozy singles are just that but good value. I spent 8 nights and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quietbrujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#26 of 66 in Auckland Central
180 reviews
1.8 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
#10 of 62 in Auckland Central
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Auckland Central
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and B...
#2 of 62 in Auckland Central
372 reviews
1 mi away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B...
#4 of 62 in Auckland Central
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#12 of 62 in Auckland Central
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel

Address: 14 Brighton Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $127 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Chevron Hotel
Chalet Chevron Auckland
Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing