We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Ranked #14 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
cleethorpes
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good choice for a budget stay,single room clean with clean fridge.Shower spotlessly clean as were toilets.Staff always happy to help.Good location for city centre quarter of an hour walk to Skytower
Only downside Auckland is the hilliest city Ive ever visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Happy you consider YMCA Hostel to be a good choice of accommodation.

Kind regards.
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    101
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
12
19
148
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a single room. Room was basic, but very clean and spacious. Included a cupboard, single bed, desk and bar fridge (large enough to fit groceries). Hostel was well located, approx 20 min walk to viaduct harbour. Was close to lots of dining places so easy to grab a quick bite in the morning/evening. Was also walking distance to Ponsonby and the Domain. Staff at reception were very friendly upon arrival and happy to answer questions about Auckland and NZ. Only complaint is that the walls must have been very thin as I could hear people talking in adjacent rooms/the hallways during the evening and early morning which disrupted my sleep. There was also noise from nearby washing machines late at night and in the morning (although the washing facilities were shut at about 10pm and re-opened at 6am). There was also a spacious lounge with a pool table and tv on the ground floor. Bathrooms and toilets were clean and I never waited to use them.
Would probably stay again- biggest complaint is noise from other guests (just general talking, there was no issues with loud/drunknen behaviour at all). Other people staying there were mainly students.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We found your feedback to be very complete and constructive, glad you found our accommodation to be clean and with a good service.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battipaglia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I admit I am not such a hostel addicted. However, YMCA-Auckland is not simply a hostel. It is a safe and very clean place. Of course you have to share some facilities, but mantainance people are really very efficient and shared bathrooms and shower are always clean. I stayed in a single room and it was good enough. Internet connection has to be separately paid, but it is not so expensive. The place is very close to the center and it is definitely impossible to get a cheaper hotel in the nearby. The receptionists are so nice.
My experience is really very good!!!"

Room Tip: If you can choose, prefer floors where the kitchens are not located, to avoid food smells; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adviser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate all your comments and very glad you found us to be a 5 Star Hostel.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed a 5 nights in February and I found that the facilities were kept clean even with the renovations being done to from what I saw to the exterior of the building.

I had single room, although some may view it as basic, it had everything that I needed which included fridge, space to hang your clothes and shelving to put everything else. The only downside I could say about the room was that it could stuffy by the end of the day due to having closed up, but if you opened your window and had your door opened a jar for a while it fixed the problem.

From the hostel I was able to walk to all the places I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

Our aims was to renovate but keep the Cleanliness standards, the Housekeeping team is really pleased with your comments. In regards the room, I'm glad you have everything you need, all the rooms in YMCA Hostel contain a desk and chair, fridge, Wireless connection, Wardrobe, and we provide all the linen (including towels).

This summer (2013) has been at least the best summer in the last 5 years, New Zealand usually has a mild summer and we were not expecting such high temperatures, however, we do provide Fans at the reception and I'm sorry if it was not communicated to you.

Once again thank you very much for your comments.
Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have booked 17 nights in this hostel and I can say that I have made positive experience.
Helpful staff, very good location - 5 minutes walking to city link and inner link bus stop - a lot of clubs in the area, also a brothel and fire station :)

Clean room and shared bathroom, normal walls (not thin as expected), cheap price for single room. It has been little bit noisy during nights because of the main street but it didnt bother my sleep.

Wifi connection was working (some few minutes outages occurred).

I did not like the bed because of the grids on both ends (Could not sleep on the stomach).


If I will visit Auckland again Im sure which hostel I will choose. YMCA :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very happy you think staff is helpful, rooms are very clean and we are in a good location. Glad you stayed 15 nights and could experience a bit of our service. Apologise about the new beds, however, we do have other options in other floors were the bed does not have grids; we will make sure you have one of them if you come back to Auckland.

Once again thank you for your comments and ratings, very much appreciated by the team.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

YMCA staff are very friendly and very helpful. The place is clean and inexpensive. The location is perfect for everything. 10 minutes walk to the harbour and ferry terminal as well as all the shopping area. only 2 blocks away from city sky centre.

I definitely come back here and will recommend to friends and families.

Room Tip: stay on the 5fl. but if you are male choose 4th floor because there is no male toilet on the 5th flr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mila i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments, we aim to have the best service in Auckland and I'm confident we are on the right track. We are nestled right on the City Centre and our rates are very affordable.

I'm glad you will come back, and I'm sorry for the inconvenient caused, usually guests do not have in another floor to use toilets, we are renovating the 5th floor so we have to block the shower, the positive aspect is that our 5th floor is almost done and looks amazing, we are forecasting to have everything done in a week so around the 12 of December 2012.

Thank you again.

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadaqués, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is surely not a charming place, but if you look for an extremely clean and cheap place, it's just perfect! Rooms are nice, I had a single bedroom, very comfortable, good bed, refrigerator, everything I needed. Shared toilets are cleaned very often, not as usual in other hostels. Staff is very friendly and If you are not looking for a 5* place, give it a chance!
Oh, just one thing, they knock every morning at 9.30 asking if you have garbage, put a "don't disturb" note on your door if you want to sleep longer ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy you found our rooms to be perfect for Budget Travellers; we aim to provide a comfortable, affordable and friendly stay. Our toilets are cleaned 3 times per day and we praise to be one of the cleanest Hostels in Auckland City.

Rooms are cleaned every day, I'm sorry if it was done in morning, I will investigate why, usually our cleaners knock on the doors around lunch time.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#6 of 118 in Auckland
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 118 in Auckland
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#18 of 118 in Auckland
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 118 in Auckland
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Property: YMCA Hostel
Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YMCA Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing