We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay for the price in auckland”
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Compared to other similar priced places to stay in auckland this is the best. It is almost spotless clean rooms extremely clean well maintained showers. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the auckland c.b.d for under 50 dollars a night dont stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshnz44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Joshnz44444,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments.

Our aim is to provide an affordable and comfortable accommodation for everyone and I completely agree with your comments. Our showers and toilets are immaculately clean and Housekeepers have a great attention to detail when it comes down to room cleanliness. We definitely are one of the best accommodation under $50.00 in Auckland CBD.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 250 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Bad experience for me to stay here. Old building and the dorm room for 4 people size is small. The room was stinky. Perhaps, the other room mates collected dirty clothes and smelly shoes. So be ware !

Room Tip: Choose single room. it is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Justtraveler_12,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry you find the room to be small, however, compared to the competition we have one of the best dorms in Aucklnad, nice and big windows, Harbour view and new beds, the actual size of the room is 30 square meters, the usual size for a 4 bed dorm varies from 15 to 20 square meters.

In regards the smell, we cannot control how many showers or for how long a person wears a certain piece of clothe. What we do control is the cleanliness of the room and we advise to anyone staying in a dorm to speak to the reception, should they have any problem with their roommates, we would definitely have done something to help you out

Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Affordable for a backpackers, it's neat and clean, staffs are very approachable.

Room Tip: rooms facing the harbour is good and it is more brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kllamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Kilamera,

Thank you for your feedback

We appreciate your tips, the rooms with Harbour view are sunnier, please if you have any special requests for future bookings, contact us on hostel@nzymca.com.

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed in a single room. Lots of cupboards/drawers. Rooms are clean and tidy. Showers and toilet facilities available on each floor as well as laundry facilities. Serving excellent breakfasts at budget prices. Also has luggage storage facilities which came in handy as I was traveling in and out of Auckland often. Was quite surprised with the facilities. Enjoyed my stay there. Management and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, General Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Lihen,

Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the late response.

We are very happy you enjoyed staying with YMCA Hostel, hope to see you here again,

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I loved this hostel. I booked a single room with harbourfront views and was very happy with that choice. I had a desk/table, bed, side table, small fridge, dresser and towels in the room and the shower and toilets were just down the hall. The location is on the (free) red bus line.

Room Tip: If you're travelling solo, ask for a room on the same floor as the corresponding washroom. Femal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Dear Lihen,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Additionally to your comments, I would like to say that we went to a major refurbishment and 3 floors have been entirely renovated. I'm glad you enjoyed a room with a Harbour view for an affordable price.

We hope to see you here again, once again thank you.

Kind regards,
Andre vidoto
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Be sure you understand what shared shower means as it is likely that you have to walk to the shower. Now, I often stay in Hostels and share shower but I was surprised on this trip that shared shower was down the Hall and not in my room. This was a small price to pay for a good location. The free shuttle bus is next to the hostel.

Overall, for the price you can never complain. Although I would rate the room as a 2, overall the place was clean and no, no, bedbugs. You are just grateful for such small things. I found the bed was comfortable. This facility is more long term housing and at times it was noisy at night but only for an hour or less. I am one of those people always checking out what does my pillow look like underneath that sheath of clothing and I found a stain free pillow-again thanks for such small things

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeWittHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for the comments.
Yes the location is absolutely perfect for travellers, the showers are situated in the middle of the corridor and I'm sorry that you expect a shower in your room; however, we state in all websites that we only provide rooms with shared facilities. We have a good balance in between students (local and international) and budget conscious travellers. In addition we provide a security guard who is supposed to do a Patrol every couple of hours and check the noise levels. I'm happy that you check the room and found spotless and I hope to see you here next time, all the best in your Journey!

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank QuiqueTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#19 of 131 in Auckland Central
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#6 of 131 in Auckland Central
525 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#20 of 131 in Auckland Central
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $21 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YMCA Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing