We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YMCA Hostel
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$181
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$116
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$131
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$103
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$116
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$252
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
92
110
56
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
110
56
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roompitt streetincluding fridgeshared bathroomk roadsolo travellercommon roomqueen streetthe ground floorcity centrecleaning staffsmall kitchenstayed for nightscomfy bednew zealandfacilitiesdesk
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Be sure you understand what shared shower means as it is likely that you have to walk to the shower. Now, I often stay in Hostels and share shower but I was surprised on this trip that shared shower was down the Hall and not in my room. This was a small price to pay for a good location. The free shuttle bus is next to the hostel.

Overall, for the price you can never complain. Although I would rate the room as a 2, overall the place was clean and no, no, bedbugs. You are just grateful for such small things. I found the bed was comfortable. This facility is more long term housing and at times it was noisy at night but only for an hour or less. I am one of those people always checking out what does my pillow look like underneath that sheath of clothing and I found a stain free pillow-again thanks for such small things

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeWittHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for the comments.
Yes the location is absolutely perfect for travellers, the showers are situated in the middle of the corridor and I'm sorry that you expect a shower in your room; however, we state in all websites that we only provide rooms with shared facilities. We have a good balance in between students (local and international) and budget conscious travellers. In addition we provide a security guard who is supposed to do a Patrol every couple of hours and check the noise levels. I'm happy that you check the room and found spotless and I hope to see you here next time, all the best in your Journey!

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir waren im Stockwerk 5 - dort gab es keine Herrenduschen und keine Küche
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews