We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people, great room, great puppy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
Numerous
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great people, great room, great puppy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

Seema, one of the proprietors, was made for this job! She was personable, helpful, patient and warm. The staff, three young ladies from Japan, were marvelous as well, always ready to assist or chat, always friendly and working hard. Rooms were comfy and bathrooms/showers kept clean. The kitchen is a bit tiny, the fridge was a challenge, but was enough for us to make a few meals in each day. Pretty, the puppy, made the days complete!

If you can do without luxuries and are happy with kindness and cleanliness you'll like it here!

  • Liked — The staff and travelers
  • Disliked — Bit of a walk to anywhere
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SimonWasHere2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    43
    15
    19
    9
See reviews for
8
55
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

The hostess Seema was wonderful, going out of her way to accomodate us on everything from checking in very late at night, to haggling with a car hire service and letting us leave our bags after we checked out.

She also gave us maps and showed us where all the tourist attractions were, and gave us advice on how to not get ripped off by taxi drivers!

Our room was quite small, but clean, comfortable and had a nice view to the garden. Breakfast was provided, nothing fancy but a good range of choice and substantial enough to sustain us through a day of sightseeing.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a nice quiet place to crash at the end of the day, but also wants to be close to the action should the mood take them.

  • Liked — The personalised hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of that isn't related to it being relatively inexpensive eg. Shared bathroom facilities.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aimee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is a very nice place to stay, with comfortable, cosy rooms (ours had TV and a view to the garden). Clean bathrooms, basic kitchen available to guests, free Internet access and WIFI. All you need!
Quiet location 10-15 minutes walk to the center and also 15 min from the very pretty neighbourhood of Ponsoby.
The owner is a very friendly lady and we really felt welcome!

  • Liked — Very good value!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Piotr_and_Rapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Freeman's B&B is a wonderful place to stay. Don't expect 5 star surroundings, but this place is very clean and well maintained.

Seema, the host was wonderful. She gave us personal service, and greeted us each day. She was happy to make special arrangements for us including providing a phone line when my husband had a radio interview, and allowing us to leave our bags at the place after we had checked out.

The beds were very comfortable and the atmosphere here was warm and welcoming. Very quiet at night.

Just lovely!

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable room. Free wireless internet acces & breakfast
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjkitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing