We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“freemans lodge 65 Wellington Strret Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“freemans lodge 65 Wellington Strret Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Freemans lodge he staff we energetic about cleaning and as a guest I was treated with respect and I enjoyed meet other guest from around the world which made my stay enjoyable. The owners are really interested in customer serivice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahamg33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    41
    15
    19
    9
See reviews for
8
55
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Freemans Lodge is a very nice Hostel with garden. You can enjoy the sun in the garden and the stars in the night. It is only 20 min to walk to the Queenstreet. You get also unlimited free internet;(Wifi and computers are provided)

The manager is also very friendly and helpful;-)
If you have problems with the car. Just ask Seema (manager) and she will give you the informations how to solute so cheap as it possible;-)

It's also not the biggest hostel which is good if you travel on your own because you can get in contact with other people very fast ;-)

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 which is closed to the Wellington Street and it was not nosy;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markus_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hoste has a nice atmosphere, because it is so small. Rooms and facilities are clean and staff/manager is very friendly. Internet/WiFi works most of the time. I enjoyed my stay a lot. Thank you very much :))

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have enjoyed our three-days stay in Freemans Lodge! It was our final destination before leaving back home from NZ and comparing to other two backpacers we have lived in Auckland, this one was the best. Group of young Asins cleaning the lodge all the time, free unlimited wi-fi, fine kitchen and very firm double bed, quiet at night. Would stay here anytime again!

Room Tip: Room 0 is noisy from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalibor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived at Auckland in the middle of the night and had booked a twin room before. It was no problem to get our room, even at midnight. Everything was ready for us and we could take a shower and get some sleep.

The hostel is not the biggest, but it has two kitchen areas, so you will always find a place to cook. There are two lounges as well, one has a big TV, the other has two internet PCs. Also WiFi is completely free here. It is really clean here, the vacuum the place every day and clean up the kitchens and the bathrooms.

We felt very welcomed here and the staff was really nice. Seema the manager helped us a lot with getting started on our trip to New Zealand. She even gave us a ride to her other Backpackers when we moved there!

We can definitely recommend to stay at this hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeikoK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was amazing hostel ever! Nice, clean, tidy and a warm friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff gave a great intro to the area. Room was comfortable. The owner was really nice and friendly, and genuinely seems to care about her guests. I felt very much at home and the location is really good. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Freemans Lode is a tidy and comfy hostel in a quiet area.
The manager and staffs working there are so friendly. They are only more than happy to help me whenever I have any problems or questions. During my 14 days in North island, I always stayed to the lodge every time I went back to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing