We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....small room..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Central
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
montreal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location....small room..”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for five nights the staff is amazing and very helpful, the assisted us with everything that we need.
The room that was first given was tiny and near the elevator ,so the staff gave us another room bigger (still small.). The room although small are clean and serviced daily
This hotel is centrally located near everything. There restaurant stores, ferry terminal, bus terminal are all at a walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxy86_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    101
    96
    45
    39
See reviews for
28
122
56
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The room was perfect for my needs. Yes they are small, but at that price the location cannot be beaten. Very central, well presented, very clean and tidy, great shower. I would definitely go back, but would get one of the bigger rooms if travelling as a couple.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I found they have diff taps for hot and cold water. And how to u use warm water with this kind of taps. I don't know whether they have change it since we went in June 7 2012. Also i noticed they lowered their price after we left. Not sure if it is seasonal. Other hotels also did not change. Their heater is a portable one but it is very warm. Room is tiny with queen bed. Staff is not friendly nor forthcoming with any suggestions. The shower head is fixed to the wall which is very inconvenient for me too. Too expensive with this kind of facilities charging me NZ$129 for one night. Only thing is near to Queen street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DYNK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I would recommend this place only if you are travelling on your own, don't have too much luggage, and don't want to do yoga in the morning. The rooms are tiny (that's how come you pay so much less), but in addition to that there are steps up to the lobby from the street. A good secure alternative to hostel accommodation, but without the character or ability to meet other people. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently spent three nights at this hotel. It's in a great location, handy to all public transport, shops and the waterfront. Rooms are small but clean an have all you need. Excellent choice for those not wanting to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyBrandreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

the room we stayed is like a rat's hole. We booked for 3 people and the place is just Ok for one person to stay. After located luggage, we could not have enough places to turn around. We knew the central city’s hotel in Auckland is very expensive but the quality is too poor beyond our tolerance. We only stayed there for 3 days and they forgot to do house keeping for one day. The female duty manager’s manner is not nice. Feel sorry for the hotel to hire such person as manager to ruin the hotel’s image. We will never book there even if the price is free as the backpacker’s place is better than this one. By the way, the towels are yellow and so gross.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mag1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

rooms are on the small side.. but pretty good value for money.
great location and very helpful staff..
would definitely stay again..
lovely clean room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daynad1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Property: Econo Lodge City Central
Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing