We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMM.....Not sure if it was us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cotter House Luxury Retreat
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Gloria was very friendly and an ex host.
Our breakfast's were made by Gloria, and she served us well with a four course, every morning at the time we wanted.
The rooms are very nice but very antique and cluttered with all the gadgets on show.
Bathroom beautiful although the shower kept going hot and cold.
We didn't bring slippers so Gloria put a brand new pair each in our room.
Location is not too bad if you have a car.
Gloria is full of stories about her life so if you don't mind listening to them while you have your breakfast then that's fine.
It would have been really nice to have gone in winter with the fire burning in our bedroom!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Bronze Suite offers all the elegance, privacy and room any couple needs. A luxurious setting, within a quiet retreat. Mixing modern amenities with beautiful antiquities and a wonderful art collection made for a rich experience. The staff were quiet, competent and always available.
Being U.S. citizens, we left all our private wedding plans to our hostess, Gloria Poupard, to guide us for our special event in the ballroom. She performed admirably while sourcing all experts and resources to keep our anxiety tolerable .Her wide ranging creativity managing the celebrant, musicians, photographer culinary/wine side was just marvelous. She obviously has a wealth of knowledge and passion for her New Zealand history. Proximity (2 blocks) to local downtown Remuera brought comfort for last minute restaurants, stores,gifts, etc. This would be a great gem for a family reunion or small conference. Just a very special sanctuary!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This tucked away B and B is a hidden gem. After traveling the world and staying in top hotels in Paris, London, Rome, New York, well, Cotter House tops them all. The care put into all the details from the silverware to table cloths to bed linens is supreme. And it maintains a wonderful charm, a perfect spot for anyone to explore Auckland from. The owner Gloria could not be nicer or more accommodating to her guests needs. Also a great place for afternoon tea or private events. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackfruitBandit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had a wonderful 28th wedding anniversary; the place is full of history and pieces of art from all around the world. The atmosphere was very relaxed and worm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalshWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

It was my wife's 50th birthday and I planned a surprise dinner party for 50 guests. i wanted a venue that could do the idea justice, as the theme was to be "Last Dinner aboard the RMS Titanic, April 12th 1912" and I planned to reprise the menu from the first class dining room. Cotter House, with its upstairs guest suites for the guests who would be flying in from Australia, and its lovely ballroom, with barrel vaulted ceiling seemed an ideal venue. The House, built around 1850, is a significant heritage home, located in the leafy suburb of Remuera. It is a treasure trove of eclectic international art and the fittings and furnishings have been lovingly restored. It seemed ideal for what we wanted to do, but could a small boutique hotel with only three guest suites cope with a sit down, 9 course banquet for 50 guests?
Thanks to indefatigable hostess Gloria, the answer was a resounding success. With weeks of preparation, the menu items were tested and refined, key ingredients sourced, wines matched, selected and laid by and preparations handled with minimal fuss. As the host I was kept fully informed and my frequent changes of plans, alterations in guest numbers and hare-brained ideas were met with professional diplomacy and indulgence. The entire home was beautifully decorated for the night and the banqueting hall was truly a sight to behold. The surprise was maintained until literally the last minute and the night was a resounding success. What made the night truly one to remember was that we had friends flying in from Australia, who were able to stay over in the hotel's guest suites overnight. My wife and I stayed over as well and the weekend ended with the six of us sitting down to a sumptuous brunch in front of a cosy fire, while the icy winter rain pelted down outside. It was a great way to wrap up a wonderful weekend and I would not hesitate to recommend Cotter House, as a cosy yet luxurious retreat or as a function venue, to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I decided to take my mother to a luxury retreat for the weekend as a 'Mothers Day' gift and we both had a fantastic time with Gloria as our hostess who gave us a tour of Cotter House as well as a historical account of how the house became what it is today and the amazing in-house art collection which is just stunning! Gloria made us feel right at home and as we sat by the open fire place she served us a fabolous high tea using the traditional silver ware followed by champagne and canapes which were simply divine!

We stayed in the Blue Provencale room which was lovely and we both woke up well rested especially my mother who said it was the best nights sleep she had experienced in ages! We then went downstairs to our dining room where we were served breakfast which was all handmade by Gloria! We had fresh fruit from her garden and museli as well as croissants and then french toast followed by eggs done in a mexican style all of which was absolutley delicious!

I would higly recommend this property to anyone wanting to get away and have a break or to those of you who want to be in the heart of the city but still have some privacy this in the ideal venue.

Tiffanie Daniell

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauiauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We chose Cotter House on the basis of its luxurious reputation, central location, heritage character and environmental rating (an important aspect for the discerning traveller). We are a family with 3 young children and were made to feel very welcome - Gloria, the gracious and warm hostess, set up a wonderful “play and family” room for us in her gorgeous ballroom, ideal for our children to run around and play during wet and dry weather. The property is gated and offers great protection to the swimming pool area, removing any concerns for our toddler. We loved the location, next to a library and restaurants, with private parking and handy to the city.

Overall, we found this retreat works very well and would recommend it strongly for families. It has wonderful facilities including access to a gym and swimming pool (suitable for children). We enjoyed the complimentary kickboxing, pilates and yoga classes. But the highlight was the delightful food and in particular the outstanding breakfasts. There is also room for a nanny.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerning_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.6 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,970 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,618 reviews
3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotter House Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotter House Luxury Retreat

Address: 2 St Vincent Avenue | Remuera, Auckland Central, Auckland 1050, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $418 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cotter House Luxury Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotter House, a 5-star Historic Regency 1847 Mansion offering 4 exquisite hi-tech rooms, is a Private Retreat and Art Hotel, with a 1100 sq ft ballroom ideal for honeymoons and weddings, business meetings, conferences and intimate corporate entertaining. In a rare and beautifully secluded heritage setting, guests are offered all modern conveniences: free Wi-Fi, dedicated laptops, Satellite Sky TV, iPod/iPod docks,iPad on request. Guests have direct dial phones while in residence, guest office, and access to in-room Spa treatments, Gym, private pool and Sauna/steam room. Enjoy privacy, charm, ambiance and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotter House Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotter House Luxury Retreat Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing