We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has got to try better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Ist room allocated had wallpaper off the wall and a big tear in the curtains, hairs in the bathroom and dubious stains on the bedspread and someones old sock under the table! Yes we got the room on a 'deal' but when I complained and was moved to another room, still tatty but no sock! there was no apology and I felt I was being a nuisance.
I booked it as it was linked with Millennium hotels but they desperately need to give it a bit of updating!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

Awful Awful Awful. Yes it's cheap for Auckland but there's a reason the rooms are old and dated. Still you expect to be able to sleep for the money you have paid. I had to get up early the next day and was so exhausted I was up practically the entire night. Before midnight there is lot's of noise outside the rooms from guests. After midnight is when the international tour bus groups start arriving! First you get the loud bus pulling up then the loud excited people having conversations outside the rooms. This went on all night I kid you not. In between the buses I was treated to a loud buzzing sound right outside my room after complaining for the first time which went away as soon as I pleaded with the guy at reception desk, I heard someone walk past and take away whatever it was.
Don't stay here they have no respect or care for their guests and no desire to make it at all a pleasant stay. Late night guests is one thing but not all night and not when I was put in a room right next to where the buses pull up and they knew the tour bus groups were coming.

Don't do it!!!!!! Stay somewhere else and enjoy your holiday or wake up fresh for the work you have to do the next day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel is located in the prettiest part of Auckland, Parnell, with loads of pretty wooden houses, steep hills etc. Opposite the hotel is a beautiful rosegarden and you can see down to the ocean. Countdown supermarket is just a 15 min walk away, and also CBD. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff is very nice. Water boiler and generously with tea, chocholate and coffea in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Located near the Parnell and Newmarket shops this Hotel provided good value for money for a solo traveller.
Great parking off street parking and views of the skytower and city skyline.
The rooms were a bit dated but were very clean. Its nice to still find rooms that have baths so that was a treat.
Had a good sleep in on my first night but this didnt suit the cleaning staff who left the two replacment towels on my door handle. Tops marks for thinking outside the box but it would have been nice if they had come back and made up the room (in hindsight I should have left the "make up my room sign" on the handle.
Check in/out was a bit slow and could be a bit warmer.
And I would have liked more sky channels.
All up, I would go back again. However, I would ask for a room facing the rose gardens and not near the lift....it was a bit nosiey for me. but otherwise it is a lovely quiet Hotel that is close to everythng.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great value especially if you have a car and coming late at night

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sefat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Got a great rate for a room with a queen, a single and breakfast included. Suspect we had one of the older rooms as it needed an update but was clean, large and had everything needed. This hotel is especially good if you have a car because there is free parking onsite and plenty on the road. Also close to all the main roads so you can be in downtown in 5 minutes, Newmarket 10 [tops] and on the harbour bridge within 10 or so minutes depending on traffic. We paid $NZ117 a night through their own website in a special deal offered. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynejameswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We are regular visitors to this hotel as my husband works in and around Auckland.
We have always found this hotel very welcoming and eager to please.

Yes, the place is getting a bit old now but that does not mean it's not a great place to stay.
If there is anything you need we have found all you need to do is ask and within a few minutes your request is actioned. Great stuff Kingsgate we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland Central
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: $89 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing