We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here on our first night after arriving in the country after a long flight. The room was clean and tidy and had comfortable beds, however the bathroom could do with a little modernisation maybe but was very clean none the less.

The staff were very helpful with regards to directions around the local area.

As for location, the motel was a little far away from the city centre on foot if that's what you are wanting. There are however lots of nice local restaurants within 10 minutes walk and the place was nice and quite on a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Good morning James B,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We endeavour to pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness therefore your comments further solidify what we aiming to achieve.

Feel free to contact us the next time you are planning on coming to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    103
    102
    31
    24
See reviews for
64
101
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Good location, able to walk into the centre, passing places to eat etc. Our room (208) was opposite the lift but wasn't noisy. The problem we had was in the mornings were woken by a rumbling noise above us. We worked out it must have been the staff moving tables about (think the restaurant was over us). Also a school trip was using the hotel so we had children running about shouting, and slamming doors etc. (Unfortunate timing for us!) Room overlooked the pretty rose garden and very little noise from the road. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure room isn't under the restaurant or will get woken every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good morning Sue P,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

We value your opinion and have started reviewing our allocation practises accordingly. Thank you for your feedback on our friendly team members, we certainly have a good team here and your review further enforces what we are trying to achieve.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Nice central location, walking distance to Vector Arena and Parnell Road. Room was very clean, although the bathroom was dated and had some damage to the tiles. Having the Rose Gardens across the road was a bonus, especially with kids. The staff were very polite and helpful. Only problem was the fact they didn't have air conditioning. Will be staying there again next time I am in Auckland.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the ground floor as the ranch sliders do not open and room can get rather hot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Good afternoon S L,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We certainly appreciate your comments, feel free to contact myself when you are planning to return to Auckland and we will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We found the room clean and very adequate for the one night we stayed. We had breakfast and there was a very pleasant, friendly young lady who looked after us. Very close to central Auckland and our room looked over the lovely Parnell Rose Garden where numerous people enjoyed the roses

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good afternoon Del B,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We pride ourselves on our service so your feedback is very welcome and I have passed this on to the team member concerned.

See you again soon.

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Situated along the Parnell road, it was our obvious choice in Auckland. Located on a quiet street may be because it is a bit off on the road. Counting the plus first, staff- hospitable but without a smile, we though were okay with the service but a smile doesn’t cost much. Room was clean and spacious enough for 2 like us. Bathroom was clean with sufficient toiletries and no hair here and there- A big relief. Now coming to the disappointments: room without an a/c, windows tight, food was a bit pricey considering the quantity. Only life saver was its location- several cafes at reasonable rates were nearby. Go for it if you are left with no other option.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Staying ing room 120. Its a budget room around $95 a night. Its on the ground floor and easy to access. It has two large single beds. The sliding door is hard to open but outside area is secure, its not a patio just gives you air through the sliding door. The furnishings are updated and comfy but its not high end so don't disapoint yourself if your into that. It only has a jug for tea n coffee and a little fridge.
You have to climb into the shower because its a converted bath/shower, not ideal for people with mobility issues. The staff are awesome and helpful. Find out what time room service closes to avoid disapointment. Theres a dairy, sushi shop, fish n chip show, vege, butcher and pharmacy just up the road a little. Fish n chips are amazing.

Room Tip: I hear the rooms are bigger at $120 a night in the 'Colonial' Wing. On the same floor as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwionatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good afternoon Kiwionatrip,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We pride ourselves on our service and location so your comments are valuable and evident of what we as a team are trying to achieve. The local Fish and Chip shop is award winning, we also have a Restaurant and Bar on site which has amazing meals.

If you in Auckland again and require a hotel room, please don't hesitate to contact myself directly.

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We were en route to Christchurch but was diverted to Auckland due to bad weather. The airline brought us here to stay the night, ( which really only was a few hours, effectively ). Because we had to catch an early flight the next day , and the bus was coming to pick us up, We had to wake up at 5, and because we came from Australia and didn't really know the time difference, I used the clock timer in the hotel as my guide - bad move. It turned out, their clock was 30 minutes late! So we nearly missed the bus, and missed breakfast altogether. My kids were not only tired, but was very hungry. The room was spacious and clean, but the doors leading into our block of rooms was old and a push / pull heavy door. The reception was small and cramped.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good afternoon Grace,

Thank you for your valuable feedback,

We have certainly addressed the alarm clock time issue and upon reading your feedback, have ensured all alarm clocks are displaying the correct time. Thank you for your comments about the rooms being spacious and clean, we do take pride in our cleanliness and service therefore your comments are valuable.

If you are in Auckland again and need a hotel room, please don't hesitate to contact myself directly.

Kind regards,
Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#24 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.5 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Property: Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing