We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very good welcome and service from check-in staff.
We had stayed here often when it was part of the "Kingsgate Grab-a-Night" website deals. The low price always made up for the varying standard. The rates have gone up. At check-in we were told that there were new beds and refurbished rooms. The sink in the bathroom was new but not the 1970's blow dryer still didn't dry things and the bathroom door still had peeling paint signs of flooding from the early 80's. The furniture was new but the very noisy fan (the only form of air conditioning in the cooling) was not adequate. We did appreciate the new quilt covering, fridge and getting the local paper.
We had the full breakfast which was okay, not great, views are excellent.
We noticed that with the previous arrangement and pricing the hotel was busier. The breakfast was old and dried out because it had sat there for too long. I guess they are hoping to keep up the bus group tours and proximity to Vector Arena to keep things going. I only wish they appreciated families like us who live far from the city, who because of the good value visited often, VERY often- but will be less able to stay in the future.
We did like the new bed covers, bathroom sink and carpet in the hallway, but not the difference in price. Perhaps a loyalty system for NZ customers, a flexibility to rent the non-refurbished rooms or an acknowledgement that the little they have done is not enough to entice customers to pay more.
Great location and parking, just wish the rest hadn't so drastically changed.

Room Tip: free parking!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Auckland Rose Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room 216 - $95nzd per night. Standard Queen Rm. Up one flight of stairs

I had a week long stay on my own. The room was appropriate and comfortable for one person and maybe a partner. The room was clean and refurbished. The bed was soft comfy. Room does have dings and dents so if you have a critical eye you will surely pick things up but its a 3 star. It didnt faze me. Pay way more for something prestine. However there are two concerns for this room 216. The sliding balcony door is hell hard to open and close you need muscles. Its broken. Secondly the shower/bath poses a problem to get in and out of, if you have issues physically then a high jump into the bath isnt for you. Im glad i just made it. Note to owners - when u get a chance remove the bath its weird!
The staff are 5 star. When i checked in i looked a mess, bedraggled and hot - i was stuffed. They took one look at me and swiftly collected all my luggage and took it upstairs to my room. I was truely grateful and knackered! The restaurant is lovely and again the staff 5 star. The meals are bistro style, they are filling. I couldnt finish it and i love my food. If you are a meat eater you will like the pork ribb and porterhouse. Overall its a great place even with the high jump shower. Im definately comin back in April for study.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwionatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 night in Nov-2012 on the block opposite the lobby. The room is clean and newly upgrade with new furniture, carpet and paint job. Free Parking for guest. Directly opposite the Rose park with Sunday morning street market with nice food and interesting stuff to see. Near to downtown and Parnell street with restaurants and shops. I would recommend this hotel for budget traveler with kids.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we had a lovely dinner with gorgeous views of the rose gardens and bay but the room was pokey and their was construction work going on quite early in the morning.
staff were helpful but wouldn't rush to stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I came home to New Zealand for a vacation and travelled extensively. Unfortunately the last place we stayed before departing back to the States was this hotel! It was just horrendous - where do I start. Under renovation and there was construction mess throughout the elevators, hallways. The internet for which they charge $20 for 24 hours was awful - dropped Skype calls, dropped Wifi and so the list goes on. Even the room telephone went out of order for a number of hours with no explanation. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired - twice we had leakage from old pipes all over the floor, towel racks hanging off the wall, 1960's pink tile on the walls, midget size shower heads, antique hairdryers....... The front desk was not in the least apologetic for all our inconvenices. I would never stay there again or recomment that anybody else do. Beware is all I can say.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

When we stayed in Kingsgate Hotel couple of months ago, I completed loved the customer service however the restaurant food was aweful. My last stay with Rose park hotel was a nightmare. We ordered for room service food - wrong food items has been delivered to the room when I asked them to fix it, the duty manager took 20 mins to fix the problems while we were in the room waiting for the food. Room was clean and spacious but there was construction going on just above our room. we could not enjoy our sleep-in time. I will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and they were nice to let us check in early after our very long flight which was great. The bus stop to the city is right in front of the hotel and only took 6 minutes. It could not be more convenient plus we saved quite a bit of expense by not having to pay for daily parking that you do if you stay at a more expensive hotel in the noisy city area. It was quiet and peaceful here. Our room was very clean, neat and bright. The shower was one of the best I've had in years. The decor may not have been ultra modern but so what? The room was clean,comfortable,convenient,in good condition, quiet and a fair value. It was a wonderful beginning to our travels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 66 in Auckland Central
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: $91 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing