We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed February 25, 2008

we luckily only booked one night here. We were upgraded to an executive room but it was bad (so goodness only knows what the standard rooms are like!) I do not think the bathroom has been touched since it was built. The rooms was large and overlooked the rose gardens but it had a grubby carpet and an unclean feel. I would not recommend anyone to stay here until they update the hotel

  • Liked — nothng
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanjif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    105
    103
    31
    24
See reviews for
64
102
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We are a family of 5 on a budget due to mortgage etc and needed somewhere cheap, but not too horrible, for our 3 kids aged 9, 3 and 1.
During a public holiday, wanted to take kids to Auckland for the zoo and Rainbows End amusement park.
We have a deal through our bank for selected hotels for a 2 for 1 night deal. Parnel was a good area that I am familiar with, so we took it.
1. The staff were helpful and pleasant (I asked for weather details for outings)
2. There was no problem with the booking and I was informed up front and in detail about all charges and the "bond" put against the credit card.
3. The rooms seemed upgraded as they were clean and no stains (we were worried when reading this websites reviews)
4. Plenty of parking which is normally a problem the closer you get to the CBD.
5. Rooms promptly cleaned the next day which is nice when coming back from a day out.

However, there is no microwave for warming up our baby's bottles, no table for the kids to sit at for eating and no corkscrew.

We would consider going back there for price reasons, but would prefer more room.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — ammenities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wharekura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, Northamptonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

The room we stayed in was upstairs overlooking the rose garden which was the hotel's only saving grace.
It was clean but needed a thorough overhaul. Very dated with tatty furniture, stained carpet and old fashioned bed cover. The chair had been pushed under the drawer so hard we could not open the drawer. We had to dodge the leaking roof of the corridors during a rainfall. Some serious money needs to be spent on this hotel to make it live up to a grading of 3 stars.
Would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank Titianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

new zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2006 and were very disappointed. The staff just processed us and were obviously bored of checking people in.

The room itself was upstairs (no lift access for luggage and we had a baby and pushchair). our room was rather musty smelling, needed a huge upgrade in the bathroom but most disappointing was the cleaniless - or lack of it. The bathroom walls and units were rotting and covered in mould. The previous guests hair was all over the shower walls so very little cleaning had been done for our arrival. We had room service but the food was overcooked and also cold so must have been sitting around for a while.

we checked out with a different staff member who had no smiles, no animation and no 'thankyou' for staying with us. We won't be staying there again.

  • Liked — its handy location as we needed to stay in parnell
  • Disliked — quality of room was not worth half the cost
  • Tips/Secrets — book somewhere else
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

The room is not quiet since it is situated along the parnell road though it is easy to access to another place. The facilities are acceptable. There is also a electric pot in the room which you do not need to bring one to make your coffee or tea, even instant noodle soup. Each bed is an electric heater bed so you need to turn on the button to make the bed warm.

If you come to this hotel during the parnell rose festival, october I guess, you need to require to garden view room.

The car park is good.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2006

I have just completed a two night stay at the Kingsgate, as part of a group of 12 people. The hotel was clean, and the staff for the most part helpful and friendly. The location is okay -- not within easy walking distance of downtown, but a NZD 10 taxi ride from the city centre.

A word of warning -- this hotel charges exorbitant rates for local phone calls! Most NZ hotels charge a flat rate (usually about NZD0.70 - 0.90) for a call, regardless of length. We were charged NZD1.50 per minute for local calls, and after vociferous complaints, the hotel reduced it to 35c per minute, still very high.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Derry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2006

This hotel is badly in need of redecoration...at least the room we were in does. The walls were stained as was the carpet. The bed covers...which looked clean...who knows with those ghastly things were PATCHED. The bed linen was clean. The windows were dirty too and covered with cobwebs.
On a positive note the food was O.K. and while the location was a little out of town the bus was convenient and cheap.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disco100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 67 in Auckland
167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Property: Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing