We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good impression first night in New Zealand.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Ranked #79 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good impression first night in New Zealand.”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

When I stay at a hostel, I expect nothing more than a bunk bed and a kitchen (if im lucky). Nomads fat camel was good. You walked in to an apartment with a kitchen, sofa etc etc then there were dorms beyond this other doors. One negative thing is There Was Only One toilet on i dont How Many people .. There was six beds in the room we stayed in, And there where atleast three more rooms in That apartment. The kitchen was a bit dirty. Great location

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    55
    71
    98
See reviews for
7
62
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agnes Water
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Having stayed in the X Base backpacker before, we thought we were booking a private room with a bath in the same building, under the new name of Nomads. Our flight being delayed, we arrived to check in at 4:00 am and were told that we had actually booked a room in the Nomads Fat Camel backpacker. After a short walk down the street past several massage parlours and ladies of the night, we arrived at a very run-down looking place and given a key to "an apartment style private room" with shared bath. This place is very basic, to put it nicely. The private rooms are not even close to being worth the $85 price. The X Base used to be value for money. But Nomads is not.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Lausanne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We took a double room. The room was quit dirty. do they know what is a vacuum? and strange brown spots on the sheets.
Staff can arrange you a lot of 'teenage' days, very expensive. If you avoid this, this a basic hostel.
I will try another one next time

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Fat Camel is in a great location (a couple of blocks from the Naked Bus stop). However, I will never ever stay there again. I requested an all-female dorm and ended up sleeping above a middle-aged man who snored and farted the whole night. Also, there was zero hot water. I tried several showers on different floors before someone told me there wasn't any hot water. Besides the water and rooming issues, and a few sketchy men hanging around, the place was bearable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Bit confusing when we arrived as there are 2 Nomads on the same street and we initially went to the wrong one, but the location is great - quite close to the main town and waterfront.
Main (kitchen) areas were often dirty: dorm rooms were clean, but the windows wouldn't shut and the blinds were hanging off meaning that it was quite cold in the room (bring your own bedding if poss - the bedding provided is definitely not adequate if you are prone to the cold like me!) and we were woken up by the sunrise! Thankfully they do have good hot showers to help wake you up properly! One of the lockers in the room (they're quite small) was also broken, so there weren't enough to go round.
There is a bar in the building, so it's good for socialising and internet is cheap, so it's probably best enjoyed if you are in your early 20's.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankgirlfromglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The Fat Camel, has a very trendy vibe and attracts a lot of travellers which is great but they should employ some cleaners. In fact first impressions were good, we had been upgraded for no extra charge to a dorm with windows! Yet when we got to our dorm, the kitchen area was disgusting and the bathrooms not too great either. There were about 24 guests all sharing 2 toilets (one was broken) and 2 showers. So we decided to find showers elsewhere in the morning and found one shower cubicle which had diarrhoea on the floor. Went back a few days later and it was still there. Sleep wasn't much better either as there was a club underneath playing music til the early hours. Go elsewhere. The YHA.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiltonj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The checkin was easy, the doubles are on a separate corridor of 6 flats. So you basically share a kitchen and bathroom with 5 other doubles. The bathroom was not really clean, but also not disgusting. The kitchen was quite messy with a lack of a sponge, towel and dishwashing liquid. The fridge stank horribly.

Probably the worst thing: Our room shared a radiator with the room next door, which means there is a bigger hole in the wall and you can hear basically everything out of the other room as if it would be in yours. Privacy: No!

Nevertheless it is very central in Auckland and therefore (in comparison to others) quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darko_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
0.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 123 in Auckland
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 123 in Auckland
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Auckland Harbour Oaks
#184 of 282 in Auckland Region
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Property: Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Address: 38 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland Downtown and is near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation with shared dorm rooms, private rooms and even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours with a 24 hour reception desk and internet access. A free snack size meal is provided every night you stay with free activities in the bar and excellent drinks specials. Come and be a part of the Fatty Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing