We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spend the extra money and find somewhere decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Ranked #79 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“spend the extra money and find somewhere decent”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

this hostel was so bad. the sheets were stained and the room hadn't been cleaned (there were still dirty cotton wool buds in the bin). tiny room. and the window didn't close properly. we Didn't end up even sleeping here.
Spend the extra money and stay somewhere decent

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    54
    71
    98
See reviews for
7
62
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed at The Fat Camel a week ago and was reluctant to leave :-( but I had to cos now I'm in OZ :-) !
There seem to be a lot of long termers staying at The Camel but that's not a bad thing cos they were all really friendly and welcoming, which was good because I was a bit worried about not being able to make friends.
The place could do with a bit of an update but for the price you pay it's perfectly fine. It's clean, the staff are nice and the beer is cheap (and they give away free food every night - it's not a huge portion but it is free and very tasty!)

I'd def go again, cos it's got a real good feel to the place!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2009

gross! The shets felt dirty and there were fleas! Spend a little extre and go to the fab small hotels in the area!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

i stayed here a few years ago and it was 'bouncin;' how that has changed...i stayed there after booking on the internet $19 nightly four bed female dorm...when i arrived i like other travelers were told that this was incorrect and in fact the price of the dorm room was $29 per night-i checked four days later and this was still the case...i was exhausted and couldnt be bothered looking for another backpackers. Vanessa(thats the managers name-what a pratt has taken over from nomads next door), what she does i'll never know.Started my day with breakfast-i was told despite all the posters they didn't do breakfast..then i proceeded to do my washing-ha the washer was crap but the dryer was worse. I paid 3£ for a wash and £6 for a dry and £2 soap-its not cheap here...but despite paying this the dryer after two turns didnt work-packed in...but it took two people over thirty minutes to decide if they were to try another three $ so start again(one being the manager).So i wasted the entire morning trying to sort my washing,,,There are homeless people staying in the TV lounge(gotta stay somewhere i guess)-and various randoms in the rooms-there is no security here...value for money very poor...management apauling, loose tiles to nicely sever youself and whichever limb you want to dispose of in the shower rooms and staff 10-12 years old-mentally..So if you wanta be ripped off pay $29 per night per bed for as much security as a park bench..also there were screams of bed biug the next morning-and although i seriously doubt they actually got bed bugs im certain something was caught as the place is filthy
good luck

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

I had just flown into Auckland with my girlfriend and another backpacker had recommended this place to us so we decided to check it out. The staff are friendly enough and helped us with every enquiry we had but this is were the positives finish and negatives begin. My main problem with the place is the fact that a lot of junkies and alcoholics seem to hang around the Fat Camel bar all day every day. At first it didn't bother me but then we saw a guy getting so drunk one night that the police were called and he was taken away. Then another night as I was going to bed there were 3 guys cooking up what appeared to be heroin on the cooker in the common room!? They weren't even staying in the hostel they were just part of the gang of junkies that hang around all day and use the facilities. I quickly shuffled past them to bed. The room itself was pretty basic and run down. The bed squeaked insanely loudly and there were no curtains(This means you are clearly visible to all the office workers in the building across the street). This is my first time in New Zealand and I'll be traveling around it for the next 5 weeks so I'm really hoping this is bottom of the barrel.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A1K3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We decided to venture into hostelling with our 5 year old son and figured New Zealand would be a fine place to do it. We booked 2 nights at Nomad's and should have left before the 1st one. But not wanting to admit defeat and still liking the bargain price, we decided to stick it out. The first room we were assigned had one bed and there was total confusion at the desk as to how this could be, but ultimately we were reassigned to another room. When we walked into the common area of our apartment block, we were met by 5 people splayed about the very dirty living room area watching a small, very loud TV. The place smelled like old, greasy cooked fish. Our room was quite dirty too and the walls were so thin that light streamed through from the next room where the wall met the ceiling. The first night was horrific since there was a nonstop party with at least a dozen people in the common area and when they did go to sleep (pass out?) finally at 4 am, the guy in the next room snored so loudly and erratically I thought someone was being throttled. The next night we were forced to use earplugs and slept through our alarm and missed our flight and prepaid supershuttle to airport.
The only redeeming part of the place is the bar--good music, nice and funky atmosphere, where we as 40 somethings still felt comfortable.
Security was good at front door, but once inside, the doors between floors were routinely left propped or taped! open so anyone could come and go and whenever anyone knocked they seemed to be given access, no questions asked. The staff were nice enough but not overly concerned about addressing any complaints.
BTW, we did see a cleaning lady on our pod once and she seemed to be doing a cursory clean and took out garbage, we thanked and tipped her. But honestly, the place is so grimy it can't look clean unless the walls were painted, the molding and carpets replaced, the kitchen updated, etc. Not a reflection on her efforts at all.
I would only recommend this place for true backpackers on the tightest of budgets who don't care about sleep or cleanliness or security.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, nz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Not very happy at all to be honest....we first got put in a twin room that was really dirty and when we had booked a double....we were then put in a double room which was actually a filthy window less cell with really bad ventilation awful old bed.....we got 1 1/2 hours sleep because we had 'role together'as the beds springs were so bad. When we finally had to get up we discovered the bed was infested with bed bugs and my partner was totally covered in bites from head to toe! We will be contacting you for a full refund as this simply is not good enough....we have had to use a bug bomb in our own room to ensure that we havent carried them to our own house,we are hoping that this is not the case as if it is a replacement mattress can cost alot. To be honest in the past we have travelled over south east asia for a whole year ( asian standards in general are not upto our western standards in terms of cleanliness but in that whole time over 10 countries we only experienced bed bugs once! This is really not good enough for a New Zealand hostel to be this unclean!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmylouWellington_Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 118 in Auckland
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#55 of 118 in Auckland
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 118 in Auckland
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Property: Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Address: 38 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland Downtown and is near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation with shared dorm rooms, private rooms and even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours with a 24 hour reception desk and internet access. A free snack size meal is provided every night you stay with free activities in the bar and excellent drinks specials. Come and be a part of the Fatty Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing