We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Ranked #79 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Stevensville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty bad”
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We decided to venture into hostelling with our 5 year old son and figured New Zealand would be a fine place to do it. We booked 2 nights at Nomad's and should have left before the 1st one. But not wanting to admit defeat and still liking the bargain price, we decided to stick it out. The first room we were assigned had one bed and there was total confusion at the desk as to how this could be, but ultimately we were reassigned to another room. When we walked into the common area of our apartment block, we were met by 5 people splayed about the very dirty living room area watching a small, very loud TV. The place smelled like old, greasy cooked fish. Our room was quite dirty too and the walls were so thin that light streamed through from the next room where the wall met the ceiling. The first night was horrific since there was a nonstop party with at least a dozen people in the common area and when they did go to sleep (pass out?) finally at 4 am, the guy in the next room snored so loudly and erratically I thought someone was being throttled. The next night we were forced to use earplugs and slept through our alarm and missed our flight and prepaid supershuttle to airport.
The only redeeming part of the place is the bar--good music, nice and funky atmosphere, where we as 40 somethings still felt comfortable.
Security was good at front door, but once inside, the doors between floors were routinely left propped or taped! open so anyone could come and go and whenever anyone knocked they seemed to be given access, no questions asked. The staff were nice enough but not overly concerned about addressing any complaints.
BTW, we did see a cleaning lady on our pod once and she seemed to be doing a cursory clean and took out garbage, we thanked and tipped her. But honestly, the place is so grimy it can't look clean unless the walls were painted, the molding and carpets replaced, the kitchen updated, etc. Not a reflection on her efforts at all.
I would only recommend this place for true backpackers on the tightest of budgets who don't care about sleep or cleanliness or security.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    54
    71
    98
See reviews for
7
62
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington, nz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Not very happy at all to be honest....we first got put in a twin room that was really dirty and when we had booked a double....we were then put in a double room which was actually a filthy window less cell with really bad ventilation awful old bed.....we got 1 1/2 hours sleep because we had 'role together'as the beds springs were so bad. When we finally had to get up we discovered the bed was infested with bed bugs and my partner was totally covered in bites from head to toe! We will be contacting you for a full refund as this simply is not good enough....we have had to use a bug bomb in our own room to ensure that we havent carried them to our own house,we are hoping that this is not the case as if it is a replacement mattress can cost alot. To be honest in the past we have travelled over south east asia for a whole year ( asian standards in general are not upto our western standards in terms of cleanliness but in that whole time over 10 countries we only experienced bed bugs once! This is really not good enough for a New Zealand hostel to be this unclean!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmylouWellington_Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We called NFC Hostel in the morning to enquire about rates for two nights and were told that they had $19 budget dorms that they'd hold for us with our card details - the cheap price was why we chose the place, despite the bad reviews and lack of parking.

We arrived and paid only to be charged $24 a night and when we queried this we were told it was impossible to refund the extra and that there were no $19 beds avaliable for two nights anyway. Hmmm.

Thankfully the staff were pretty cool and gave us $20 worth of free drinks vouchers, which we luckily would've spent in their bar while watching the Wales v England 6 Nations match anyway.

We got to our room and it was a pretty standard 8 bed dorm, if a little cramped and both sets of ladders to the top bunk in the only set available to us were inaccessible. We did a few things around town and went into Ponsonby, arriving back and being in bed (incredibly hard ones with dirty old quilts) by 11ish. It was obvious two of the people in our dorm had been drinking excessively as there were wine and beer bottles strewn everywhere, despite numerous signs telling us that the hostel is a 'dry' one.

The main problem, however, was the NOISE from outside/downstairs. The bar below was playing the loudest music with smokers and drinkers spilling onto the street until 3am or so and our window was wide open. Close it? No way - it was completely broken and impossible to shift and so we had to spend the evening like that. I can't stress enough how loud the bar gets at night and we were on the 4th floor!

The toilets and showers were adequate and the kitchenin our dorm was OK, although filthy and littered with dirty dishes. The common room was tatty and uncomfortable with only 1 TV channel.

There were two lads in the bar the next morning during the rugby match - an Irish guy called Andy and a Welsh fella and they were both wicked and couldn't do enough to help and make us feel welcome so that certainly made us smile.

I would never stay here again though.

  • Liked — Internet access and the Irish and Welsh barmen
  • Disliked — NOISE from the bar until 3am. You will NOT sleep unless you can sleep through a rock concert.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Renton_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Spent 2 nights here,

+ Price was ok
+ Good location

- Facilities were por
- No window in the room
- 'Free' dinner was poor
- Communal areas were a mess

2.5/5

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tf_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2008

I strongly reccommend not to spend a night in this terrible backpacker.

They don't care about you at all,

Bugs in my private room.

The worst thing of all:
They kept my passport as I asked for the key to keep my bags in the terrible smelly bagagge room!!! As a result I forgot to collect it when I checked-out. When I realised I didn't have it with me I asked the totally unfriendly staff about my passport, they almost laughed at me and told me repeatedly they did'n keep it. I spent the whole morning running from places to places, police, contacting the embassy ( I spent more than 30 euros in roaming phonecalls), and finally I came back to Fat Camel to ask once again about my passport. They denied again they had my passport, then I leant over the desk and I saw two or three passports, one of them was mine. No sorry at all from them. They don't care about you, about their job, about their responsibilities, about anyting at all!!

Don't ever stay here guys!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Voladorzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

The reception and bar may look okay, but this place is a dive, no question about it. We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room, but only because we had made the mistake of booking (and paying) in advance and were done by the 'absolutely no refunds' policy!

We refused to stay in the first room we were given due to the white crusty stains on the bedclothes and a blind which was completely broken. To be fair, the manager (unlike the first member of staff we encountered) was very apologetic and moved us to a cleaner room with no fuss. However, the kitchen area ajoining our room was grim and completely under-equiped. We found cockroaches in the filthy cutlery draw (and a couple of their alive and kicking brothers in the toilets) and kitchen units and appliances generally looked old, tired and dirty. My girlfriend took photos - I'll try and add them to this review soon. Between a dorm room (or two?) and a few double rooms, we had one mug, one pan and no 'luxuries' such as a tin opener or sharp knife! We complained about the dirt and were told that 'they couldn't do much about it' but at least the next day the kitchen was pretty thoroughly cleaned as a result of us saying something.

The Fat Camel was generally just depressing. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but it felt like the manager had a bit of a battle on his hands with crap cleaners and a couple of rude staff members. We weren't the only ones we met there who shared our thoughts either!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The dirt and rubbish kitchen facilities, refund policy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2008

We turned up to the hostel for a weeks stay afetr booking on a hostel website. When we arrived they had no record of our booking and disagreed with the price we had paid. We were then told that if we wanted a window it would be a further 20 dollars a night. As backpackers we could not afford to do this so stuck with the room we were given. The block that we stayed in didnot have a window at all!!! The place stank of sweat and generally musty due to never being aired. Our room was tiny and the bed had not been made. We notified reception more times then i care to remember and it was not until the third day they actually changed it. They even tried to just pass the sheets to us and get us to do it! We advised them we were not the maid. When we went to get a cup of coffee from the machine a huge bug fell into the cup. The place is extremely dirty and does not have any special facilities. the Television is blurred and the cutlery is not even enough to go around! we did not have one bowl between our unit. We have stayed in loads of hostels but this one was the worst by a large margin. DO NOT waste your money or risk your health staying here.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstycowie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 120 in Auckland
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#55 of 120 in Auckland
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 120 in Auckland
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Property: Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Address: 38 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland Downtown and is near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation with shared dorm rooms, private rooms and even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours with a 24 hour reception desk and internet access. A free snack size meal is provided every night you stay with free activities in the bar and excellent drinks specials. Come and be a part of the Fatty Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing