We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff just abit grim n dirty!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice staff just abit grim n dirty!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Staff on check in were helpful and nice.

The location here is great as literally all the bars are around you.

The living conditions are not so great. We stayed in a double room since we were a couple. We had a shared bathroom / kitchen. To be honest there were clothes all over the place and the kitchen although cleaned daily, just looked dirty all the time.

We couldnt wait to leave this place as its one of those places you have a shower and you feel more dirty than when you first went in.

The rooms sounded like there walls were made out of paper. You could hear everything. We were abit away from the kitchen however we could hear people in the sitting area chatting all night - seriously guys maybe look into some sound proofing. I understand hostels can have lively people in them getting drunk etc, but these guys werent even drinking...they were just normally talking and you could still here every word!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayjayCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi JayJay,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything regarding extra soundproofing as we do not own the building. The owners have plans to renovate the entire building which keep getting postponed so we have actually just started refreshing one apartment at a time. We have completed two so far with another two planned for July and it has made an awesome difference already.
I am glad you mention that the group in the lounge were not drinking as we aim to keep the hostel area dry to mimimise noise, mess and disruption for our guesst that don't want to socialise. The Camel is our budget property and we have our more modern, flagship Auckland property located just 40 metres down the street which you will find much quieter!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    43
    57
    76
See reviews for
5
55
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of nights with some friends.
The girl at reception was very nice and helpful and we had a free snack on the first evening of our stay.
The location is great, basically in the city center, only a few minutes away from Queen St.
The cleanliness and the general state of the apartment we stayed in was very poor, though. Our room was quite cold, the showers were messy, and the sinks didn't drain properly.
It was cheap but honestly not so great a stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Marta,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed the location, free snack meal and friendly staff. I can assure you the hostel is cleaned thoroughly once per day with 2 more shifts that cover the kitchens and bathrooms of the apartments. The building is quite old and we are waiting on a long promised upgrade by the owners. In the meantime we have started refreshing 2 apartments each month which is making an awesome difference!

Kind regards and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Just came up for the rugby stayed 1 night. Awesome friendly staff and altho they were clearly busy check in was pretty quick. Good central location close to pubs and restaurants and train to eden park. Room was simple but clean and comfy. All good. Will stay again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ajhoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi AJ,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us! I am sure it was made even better by the All Blacks winning!

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkel enschot
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have had a great time in this hostel over the last 5 weeks but I leave this central located place with some mixed feelings. People make the place, same for this hostel, were-ether your fellow travelers or the staff, both groups were amazing. The staff in this place makes a huge difference in feeling at home, Elise, Mitch, Gus, Glen and the night shift man doing a great job. Small thing make a difference in personal attention; how was your day, how went the job interview etc. and a smile all day. The establishment is a bit aged and can use an upgrade, but the manager told me that they working on an upgrade as we speak. Its might get noisy form time to time, but that the disadvantage from staying Downtown / Fortstreet. Benefit from that is that there is always sometime to do. The hostel bar (which serves a free snack meal) or the bars around Fortstreet.

A massive crew of cleaners come in around 10 in the morning to get everything clean and fresh (a bit early on a Sunday) and its cleaned during the day and the evening. Although is aged, it is clean.

I highly recommend this place for its price and the people, your get were you pay for. Don't complain too much in the cheapest place in town. I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Dirk,

Thanks for leaving feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us and the staff you mentioned who are awesome!
You are right in saying that it is the people and the good times that make a place and more of today's travellers should live by this motto!

Happy travels mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahiatua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as we arrived late in Auckland. A big waste of money , as we got no sleep, the bar downstairs was noisy and kept us awake. Someone vomited in the corridor outside our room in the night and it wasn't cleaned up until after 10am. Fort street is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi JJJ Holidays,

Thanks you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are devastated it did not live up to your expectations and by someone being sick outside your room. I can assure you the staff would have been more horrified by this than you were and it is definitely not a normal occurrence. Did you tell reception about this as they would have organised it to be cleaned up immediately. It seems not as it wasn't sorted until 10am when the full cleaning crew came on duty and I apologise it wasn't spotted earlier.
The Fat Camel is our budget property and our modern, flagship Auckland property Nomads Auckland is located just 40 metres down the street which is quieter than our budget option.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leads UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only for two nights in Novemeber, in the girls only dorm because other beds were full. I did choose the windowless dorm so it was a given that the room would be a little stuffy. The hostel is set out like apartments, with 4 or 5 dorms sharing a kitchen and common room. All the girls were friendly, though a lot of them were staying long term, making the place pretty messy. The bathroom was probably the filthiest I had seen after 3 months in hostels in NZ. Mould everywhere! And coming out I didn't feel much cleaner. Girls hair products, toothbrushes and make up surrounded the sink and the kitchen was pretty filthy.

I didn't have a bad time here, though I chose to stay at baseX on my return back to Auckland. Which was much nicer (and cleaner).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Mickmickem,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us and we are disapointed it did not live up to all your expectations. I remember the time and apartment you refer to and agree some of the female guests that we staying at that time did like to spread out a little too much which we put a stop too after a few days.
As an old building we do our best to keep it as clean as possible and have recently started painting the apartments one by one as the building renovation by the owners keeps getting put back!

Kind regards and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The staff at this hostel were impeccable. Very helpful, friendly and easy to chat to.
This place is definitely reflects the money you spend on it....
The beds were clean but uncomfortable. Loud club music playing until 4am. On a Sunday.
Dirty rooms.
This branch of hostel also has another hostel up the road, a bit more expensive. The hostel will often Reply to these reviews and recommend the other hostel to the reviewer. This is no excuse for having a dirty, uncomfortable and uneasy hostel.
Trust these reviews. I thought I'd give the place the benefit of the doubt but regretted it instantly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Shannon B,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at The Fat Camel and for your comments on our awesome staff!
When mentioning our other, more modern property located just down the street we are merely stating the obvious that the Fat camel is our budget property and Nomads Auckland is our more modern property giving people a choice as with everything in life. If you want a very social, more party orientated hostel for a budget rate we have the Fat Camel and if you want slightly more luxurious and quieter accommodation, free rooftop spa, sauna etc we have Nomads Auckland where you pay slightly more. You are right in saying however that there is no excuse for uncleanliness and we are constantly working to ensure our housekeeping team are doing their job in what is an old building!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
0.1 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.0 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#50 of 91 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#1 of 91 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#27 of 91 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Property: Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Address: 38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomads Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland, near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation, with shared dorm rooms and private rooms, even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours and 24 hour reception and internet access. Free Meal every night you stay, free activities in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing