We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen Street Backpackers
Ranked #55 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have stayed at Queenstreet Backapckers on a number of occasions and I would go back in a second. I am thrilled to say I have definitely made friends for life! I was going through some tough times while stayin at the hostel and Norman and his crew offered me more than just a roof over my head. They were truly a massive influence on my decision to stay in New Zealand. The were supportive, friendly, accomadating and very understanding. Anyone that goes to Queen Street Backpackers will be greeted with a friendly smile and will have the time of their lives! I have been travelling for over three years and this isone of the best hostels I have stayed in. This is a hostel were happy memories are made. You won't want to leave! Thanks to all the team at Queen Street Backpackers. You are all LEGENDS!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms available to suit any travellers need
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
4
28
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I came across QSB by mistake and it was proberbly the best mistake i made in my year in Auckland. The staff are friendly and knowlagable and go out of their way to make you feel at home.
I stayed at QSB for over 12 months and now every time i come back to the city i wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else.
Ill be moving back to Auckland soon and i will be moving straight back to QSB. If you are just here for a short while or for a length of time then i highly recomend QSB, i stayed in other hostels before but i wont be staying in any other again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This dirty, noisy, smelly and uncomforable hostel is located on the first floor of a dilapidated shopping precinct in central Auckland. The only thing it's got going for it is its central location.
We chose this hostel at the airport and decided to pay for a private room instead of a dormitory, I think we paid about 70€. On arrival, we had to dodge the bags and rucksacks strewn around the sorry-looking reception area. Checking in was a slow, painful process (and we were asked to leave a large cash deposit in case we decided to steal the key or pillow cases). When we finally arrived in our room, we were shocked. A miserable, crumby, poky affair with a rickety metal bunkbed with no ladder, a tatty old carpet and a rusty window that wouldn't shut properly.
As we were absolutely exhausted from our 18-hour flight, we went to sleep immediately (3pm) but were woken up at 8pm by a group of 15 teenagers getting drunk in the corridor right outside our room. We asked them to keep the noise down, and although this seemed to work for a while, at 10pm things were getting rowdier, with girls screaming, boys chasing after them and yelling obscentities.
Around 11pm, totally depressed, we changed rooms, but the new room was right over a pub door and we were kept awake by drunkards on the street below, until at least about 4am.
The following morning, I informed the receptionist that it had been the worst night of my life, but judging by her reaction, she had heard it before.
Needless to say, this put me off backpackers for life and ruined our stay in Auckland, which was otherwise a very nice city!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been living in QSB for over a year now and I love this place it's my home away from home and I have made life long friends here from all over the world. The staff are amazing and are really helpful and friendly. Most people who are long termers here all work and it's the kind of place where you can relax after a hard days work or you can socialize at the longboard bar which is located in QSB reception with staff and backpackers. I have stayed here this long because everyone is sooooo welcoming and AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will deffinatly be coming back to the QSB family where everybody knows your name....Handy tips check out the Auckland Arrival magazines (free) where you always get some coupons for free beer and special offers on activitys...... Come join our family we work hard and play very hard, and theres never a dull moment laughs a minute xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx love you QSB xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: A - Z magazine may get you discount on most backpZ
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Becky199024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Truly one friendly backpackers very family orientated. All rooms are kept to a very good and clean standard as are the kitchen and bathrooms.
Staff are amazingly genuinley friendly and are there to help you get the best deal in town.
they have great knowledge of NZ and what it as to offer you.
And if you got a question on fishing while in NZ ask for Norm.
Definatly going back there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hirochan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

when we first came here we wanted to stay for a week. we ended up staying for 6 weeks and we came back a few times after that. we found friends here, the reception staff is awesome (jenny, tom, norm, we love u!), subway is just downstairs and there is always someone u can talk to. the prices are as far as i know some of the lowest in town and it's in a very convenient spot to explore the town!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Chiquita707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just turned up in New Zealand and happened to stumble onto this hostel. Immediately I was welcomed by the manager & 'legend' that is Tom (great cook too) and everything was brilliant from there on.

The location is great, it's right in the city and there are many places to drink, eat and shop within seconds of leaving the hostel. The dorm rooms are basic to be fair, but clean enough and to be honest it's so friendly out in the reception/tv room that you rarely spend anytime in your room anyway.

From here you can organise everything like tours, buses & even pub crawls. The information is freely available from the helpful & well informed staff. They gave me a great discount on one of the Magic bus passes.

All in all I stayed there twice for a total of 2 weeks and I loved every minute. It's a wicked hostel and I recommend it to EVERYONE that I know is going to Auckland. Made so many good friends there, and that's the thing with this hostel. It has that friendly relaxed vibe that not all hostels can offer, and it makes such a difference when the staff and guests are all in tune. Stay there and have fun people ;-)

Room Tip: Speak with Tom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#58 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Street Backpackers

Property: Queen Street Backpackers
Address: 4 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Street Backpackers is considered one of the friendliest Backpackers Hostels in the heart of Auckland City. With a huge reception area which also houses our TV lounge, Longboard Bar, Pool Tables and reading area, your first impression will be one of both warmth and friendliness. Our Auckland Backpackers Hostel accommodation is only a short walk to the cities major supermarket, train, bus stations, ferry terminals, across the road from the Airbus Express stop and is on the front door step of Auckland's main street. Whether you're travelling alone, with your partner a friend or with a group of friends, our Auckland Backpackers can accommodate all your needs. Recent upgrade of the Wifi means guests have the option of using FREE 5ghz wifi within the hostel. We've also recently upgrade rooms to premium dorms which have privacy curtains, double plus, under bed storage and lockers for each bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Queen Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Street Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Queen Street Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing