We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay at great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponsonby Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“A great stay at great value”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here at the start of a road trip through NZ and was a great place to start. The staff were very friendly and helpful which was great being new to the city. The location is great only 10-15 minutes walk to central or there are regular buses which take you where you need to go. Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uxbridge-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We do hope that you will visit us again should you return to Auckland! :-) Cheers, The PB Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    132
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
87
168
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

stayed here last august was great place to stay,meet other travelers,kitchen nice and clean ,cool location for supermarket and city center,staff were great very knowledgeable and soooo helpful.would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed so many aspects of our lovely hostel. We look forward to hopefully seeing you guys again very soon! :-) Thanks, The PB Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It's taken me about a month to write this review, but better late than never! This is,honestly, an absolutely AMAZING hostel. We had a situation with a person travelling with us and John, the manager went ABOVE AND BEYOND the call of duty to help us. You are in excellent hands with the people who work here! They are extremely helpful and nice. The rooms of the hostel were great. I liked how they had safes in the rooms. The kitchen area was also very nice and I liked the backyard. If I had to say the one slight annoyance was that you had to pay for wifi - but, travelling through NZ for 3 weeks in about 12 hostels, wifi in hostels is a rare occurrence. Seriously - book your stay here. You will not be disappointed. And for the people who give bad reviews - I don't think they know what a hostel is. Yes, you have to pay in advance upon check-in (that is standard), and yes - you have to clean up after yourself in the kitchen. That is what a hostel is! If you don't like it go to a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Sophie!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your amazing comments! It was such a pleasure to meet the 3 of you and we were extremely pleased to be able to help you out as much as you needed given the difficulties you faced during your time with us. We really hope that you enjoyed the rest of trip around NZ! We are glad you also enjoyed the cleanliness of our hostel, the use of lockers in the share rooms and the lovely back garden we have. In terms of wifi, this is something we are working towards providing for our guests so thanks for your comments regarding this, we appreciate that. Also thanks to your comments regarding some recent negative comments. As a hostel, we have learned that we can't always please everyone, though we do try, so we appreciate your opinions on this :-) Thanks again, safe travels and we'd love to see you guys again next time!

The Ponsonby Bp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here at the beginning of the month. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly, now did I find the place very relaxing. It was pretty noisy and overall uncomfortable. Upon leaving I was ostracised for asking for clarification on a price. If you want confrontation, stay here. If you want a friendly experience, go to Adventure Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaJ589EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We were very disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience during your stay with us earlier this month. We pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff and unfortunately you did not feel this was reflected during your stay of which we are very sorry to hear. We are generally a calm, quiet and relaxing type hostel, not loud or a party place, so it’s a shame to hear that this did not come across during your stay. We most definitely do not consider any of our staff to be confrontational, so it's again unfortunate to hear this. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback and we still do hope that you will consider giving us another go in the future. Many Thanks, The Ponsonby BP Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was staying at the backpackers until I could find my flat (just having arrived in NZ)- staff were so kind to accommodate--when full, they called nearby backpackers for me to check availabilities. Staff were fun to chat with, and real genuine--such as May! It felt like a home because of way hostel was built- a clean and comfy place to stay, with a welcoming environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed3lrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Edelrose,

It was lovely to have you stay with us recently and it's great to hear you enjoyed your time here! We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and Mae is a fantastic asset to our team, so thanks for your comments! We are also glad you found our hostel to be clean, welcoming and a comfortable place to stay! We really hope that you will visit us again!

Thanks, The Ponsonby BP Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I loved this place! So helpful personal. Clean rooms and kitchen and a sweet little backyard to meet other people in. Close to the nice street ponsonby with a lot of cafes and restaurants.
20min walk into town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful comments! It's very lovely to hear that you enjoyed the personality and helpfulness of our hostel and it's (amazing) staff. It's also great to hear that you found our hostel to be clean as we pride ourselves on this - and you're right, the back garden is a sweet little spot to meet some new friends! We really hope you will visit us again on your next stay in Auckland!
Thanks, The Ponsonby BP Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at Ponsonby Backpackers for 6 weeks at the start of my stay in New Zealand. After a very long flight from England the staff were amazing, making sure I got checked into my room straight away and was comfortable. For the rest of my stay all the staff were very friendly especially the managers John and Holly, helping me with anything from catching buses to offering their assistance with job interviews, and must see's in and around Auckland. As a young single traveller the thing that meant the most was that they also friendship and support during a potentially stressful time.
I cannot recommend Ponsonby backpackers enough. Clean facilities, friendly staff and good value for money. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 113 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Property: Ponsonby Backpackers
Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing