We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hostel in New Zealand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponsonby Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My favourite hostel in New Zealand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

When I first came to NZ I booked a few nights in this hostel but I ended up staying for 3 months! Now that I have been travelling for 2 months all over NZ I can say that this is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. It is big enough so that there's always someone around that you can talk to or do something with but also small enough for it not to feel too crowded so that you don't get to know anyone. The location is great, it is very clean and all the the guests seem to be very well behaved so things don't get too crazy. The thing I enjoyed most about this place is the very friendly staff that makes you feel welcome and at home. If you are looking for a place that you can call your New Zealand home, this is it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    130
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
86
166
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week in New Zealand, really very awesome place. The rooms was quite big, spacious and really gorgeous... Dormitory bed style as usual so it does get noisy. The toilets were really clean which is really important. The hostel comes with a huge kitchen which has everything so you can cook!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week upon our arrival in NZ and whilst searching for a campervan. Staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. It didn’t take long to realise that the hostel runs as efficiently as it does because of the staff. The kitchen is always spotless, the common areas & garden clean & tidy. Eco Awareness is promoted with lots of recycle points & encouraging short showers. We found the location great with easy transport links into the city.

Negatives: our ‘double’ room was bunk beds – albeit the bottom was a double, I still felt like I was 12yo again! There was no lamp in the room so had to get out of bed & walk to the other side of the room to turn the light out. The showers were tiny and there was no holder to put your soap/shampoo – very awkward. Well equipped & clean as the kitchen was, come dinner time people were always tripping over one another for prep space. It could get a little noisy at times – but hey it’s a hostel!

Above mentioned negatives were all minor glitches though, this hostel is superb and I would highly recommend it for a stay in Auckland. Book well in advance though.

Room Tip: Room 14 was away from the hustle & bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ponsonby Backpackers was the first hostel I went to in New Zealand. Right from the beginning it became obvious to me that the decision to stay there was absolutely right: The rooms are tidy and clean, all members of staff are very friendly and in the tv room you can find the most cosy couch ever! From time to time, there are activities you can join (for instance the burger night on Mondays, where you get to eat the tastiest fries) so that it is fairly easy, especially for people who are a little shy, to meet fellow travellers. I liked this place so much I ended up staying there for ages.
Now that I'm travelling through New Zealand I have seen quite a few other hostels and I have to say that none of them can keep up with Ponsonby Backpackers! If you are looking for a cosy place to stay in Auckland, you should definitely choose PB!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a double room, room 14 is the place to be! As to the dorms, room number 6 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the best Hostel that I have stayed in. This was the highlight of my trip to Auckland. My review sounds fake, but look at all the others. Only one bad review out of 76, and that one was in 2006 with the prior management. It was clean comfortable. An absolutely gorgeous Victorian house is used as the foundation for this place. If they had bathrooms in the rooms, (and breakfast lol) this would be considered a bed and breakfast, not a hostel. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ponsonby was my first stop in NZ, and it was a great start. It is in a good location and is a short walk from Ponsonbby road or the Skytower. It is also easy to get to and from using the bus. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Be aware, the kitchen closes at 10pm to keep noise down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icarus223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

After a rather unimpressive 2 nights stay in another backpacker in Auckland CBD, I booked a night at Ponsonby's to meet a group of friends there. Nice contact on the phone, easy to find and nicely situated very close to Ponsonby road.

Warm team, veeery clean room, kitchen, bathrooms... Comfy venue with heaps of natural light in the different parts of the building and some friendly encounters.
Last but not least, very arranging team, as my leaving schedule was a bit chaotic. Maybe being Christmas day helped easing things, but my guts tell me a different story!

Highly recommanded, and I know where I'll stay should I come back to Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 108 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Property: Ponsonby Backpackers
Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing