We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Stop Honeymoon Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponsonby Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We traveled to NZ back in 2009 for honeymoon. First stop is Auckland and we stayed in this hostel. We love the semi-Victorian building style. Our room is small but comfy. The staff is also helpful. Kitchen is neat and clean. Its location is also perfect. It took 5 minutes walk to find an international food court where we enjoyed very nice Mexican meals. Bus stop is also nearby. 5minutes by bus to the downtown

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugie_qt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 397 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in Auckland for two nights during our travels, we had a private room with bunk beds, very spacious, has enough shower & toliet facilities. Kitchen big enough, ovens not too amazing. Helpful reception staff. Close to a nando's! Enjoyed our stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuzzlemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent in total about 6 nights in PB, and absolutely loved every minute of it! Perfectly located in one of the coziest neighborhoods in Auckland, easily accessible either by foot (about 15-20min from city centre) or the green link. Cozy cafés, bars and restaurants literally right around the corner, and the best fish and chips place to date!
The staff were welcoming and helpful, and immediately made you feel at home. The place is well-kept, and especially the kitchen deserves to be mentioned - never during my 5,5 month RTW trip did I find a kitchen as tidy and clean (and well equipped) as this! The common room was homely and cute, quite a few nights we just chilled in front of the tv and watched movies with a bunch of others. The BBQ area was awesome to have in the summer, and we met some amazing people during our stay here - many with who we met up later in NZ.
Awesome hostel, awesome staff, awesome stay - warmly recommended to anyone wanting value for money and a cozy place to spend a few nights! :)

Room Tip: Only stayed in room #6, and it was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninnu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

spent 3 nights there. excellent locaton, friendly helpful staff, well equipped kitchen and free Fejoa fruits! :))

Room Tip: sleep quality depends on the room. The cabin-like rooms outside are a bit noisy than the rooms insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Ponsonby Backpackers is a fantastic place to base yourself in Auckland, Located just off Ponsonby Road, there are cafes, bars, restaurants and one of the yummiest bakeries just minutes away. PB is a clean, welcoming and friendly hostel with really good facilities for cooking, washing, chilling out and organising trips and activities while in New Zealand. The atmosphere at the hostel is warm and welcoming, with great people form all over the world, Travelling alone, I felt at home very quickly, and was able to organise trips, get all sorts of information and make friends during my stay. Being in the Ponsonby area is ideal, as the area has excellent transport links (15 minute bus ride to downtown Auckland / cheap airport shuttle from hostel) and plenty to do within yards of the hostel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quietest and have the best view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Ponsonby area of Auckland has plenty of older, rather elegant looking homes, of which this backpacker joint fits in perfectly. The owners / staff who run this place seem to have spent plenty of time in backpacking places themselves and likely have injected it with their own idea of what should be included in a backpackers. The staff are very helpful with recommendations for food, activities, etc and have several options for any size budget. Shared spaces are typical for backpackers, clean but basic. Bicycles can be rented directly from them, which is helpful considering Ponsonby is a bit outside of downtown Auckland. Bring your own towel. Not that it's within the control of the management, but we had a bit of street noise in the middle of the night from people spilling out of nearby pubs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aero303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Hi Jason,

Thanks for taking the time to leave these lovely comments about our backpackers, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. One thing I would just like to respond to (so anyone reading the review knows) we do supply towels free of charge, all that guests have to do is ask us at reception :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Literally the best hostel in Auckland, very welcoming place and the owners are great people with heaps of knowledge, a place run by travellers for travellers. Great kitchen facilities and a lovely tv room with very comfy sofa's.
Great atmosphere aswell, if you wanna have a few beers and then head on out afterwards it's perfect also it's great for just chilling out.... You'll meet the freindliest travellers here aswel, i was made very welcome very quickly... Best hostel i have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Harding1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 131 in Auckland Central
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#16 of 131 in Auckland Central
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 131 in Auckland Central
525 reviews
1.0 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#20 of 131 in Auckland Central
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $23 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing