We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a miss” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Hotel

Arena Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arena Hotel
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
A TripAdvisor Member
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

The room was better then we expected. We only found this website after we had booked and the feed back we read before we got to this hotel was very poor.

We managed to get a room at the side of the hotel so there was no road noise. But the wind howls through the windows making a noise like dragging a lump of rock across the road. Leaking gutters and pipes means all night you will have pouring water falling onto a platic roof. Pure Chinese water torture.

I came down at 8.30am to change the room as we had unfortunatly booked for two nights. But "absolutley not" was the receptionists reply. This was an improvement on the receptionist the previous day who booked us in. She was too busy chatting to a friend on MSN to do anything more then give us a dirty look when we dared to stand at the desk. When we asked to book a shuttle to the airport (as their brochure tells us to do only through reception) She told us to come back and do it the next day. No surprises to see that the lazy girl wasn't working the next day! She simply didnt want to be bothered to do it there and then!

Still look on the bright side. The receoptionist was sooooooooooooooo lazy and preoccupied with her cyber fun that she didnt charge us. STEER CLEAR!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    11
    6
    19
See reviews for
3
12
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

I had no problem with the room. It was clean and tidy, and all the facilities were fine.

But the NOISE!!!

There's a 4 lane street, with traffic lights right outside, so vehicles of all sizes (and volumes) are starting and stopping continuously.

I stayed on a Saturday night, which is probably only second to Friday in terms of noise.

The road noise would have been bearable (just), but the empty carpark across the road was a meeting place for our next generation of deaf people. Cars would gather, open their doors and crank up their thumping stereos. This actually got worse as the night went on. The window was vibrating in the window frame, but at 2am the door into the hallway also started to vibrate from the noise. I gave up on sleep and went walking about the city for an hour. By the time I returned at 3am the noise makers had gone.

I find it amazing that people can be allowed such antisocial behaviour outside a place of residence, but the police are only concerned with bigger issues.

Unfortunately, all the rooms are on the noisyest side, with the stairs and lift enjoying the quieter side.

Perhaps a room near the top would be acceptable, but the 3rd floor was just too noisy.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Oxford, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2006

First with the positive points - our room had a huge TV! And it was dirt, dirt cheap! But with the price tag comes the dirt, and the Auck City Hotel has plenty of it. ACH saw its day in the 1970s and has changed little since, so expect to get run-down budget accomodation matching the price you pay. The room was a fair size with a decent bathroom and good shower - plenty of water pressure. Location wise, it is a short-walk to the centre and there are a couple of Asian-themed restaurants nearby, but little else aside from the cafe/bar adjoining the hotel - I think we paid more for breakfast here the following morning than for the previous nights accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

Giving this "hotel" (hovel more like it) 1 dot is generous. This establishment is filthy and grimy. We were dying for a shower and a sleep and were horrified to find the shower was on a par with something you'd encounter in a public lavatory. The bed was ... far from inviting. The first thing we did was go out to find some disinfectant so we could use the shower. The walk to the convenience store was miles! Forget trying to grab some sleep here, especially during the day. It is practically on a truck highway - and there was continual construction work going on nearby. We booked 2 nights and didn't stay the second. We were happy to do our dough just to get outta there!!! Be warned. Don't be fooled by their website!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chester100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2005

Booked the 'Hotel' on line. Booked 2 double rooms and ended up with one double and one with 4 single beds. The carpet was stained and smelt. The curtains were hanging off their rail. Spoke to the male receptionist who was completely unconcerned and stated we were liable to pay nights payment even if we did not stop there.
This was booked through Flairview Travel-Sydney and even though I have sent an e-mail to them complaining they have not replied.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2005

This was great find,and very good value for the price.Amazingly own private room with bathroom for the price and free local telephone calls.
Budget but clean and close to centre.Great Cafe with great coffee and cheap breakfast.

Helpful?
6 Thank springfield9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2004

The place was in a pretty good location, was fairly cheap and the room and bathroom were generally clean and tidy. However, I did have a CD walkman and some cash (thankfully only a bunch of US$1 bills!) go missing from my room during my stay, and while the staff were generally pretty good about this, the manager didn't seem that bothered.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.6 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: 131 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing