We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the sea view suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Airlie Beach
1 review
“Highly recommend the sea view suites”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We opted to stay in a suite with a sea view - partially to be above potential street noise and of course to admire the harbour - so we were delighted with our rooms. Plenty of space, very well decorated, great kitchen in case you felt like cooking (which included a dishwasher) and yes, the views were really fantastic. We did not eat at the restaurant as there were heaps of interesting alternatives nearby. Reception were very helpful. Gym perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    180
    211
    104
    74
See reviews for
95
282
56
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a party to go to, so decided to make a night of it and stay in town. We checked in on Saturday afternoon, got our key, but didn't go to the room as I had to work. My husband picked me up at 7pm that evening, and we went to the hotel to drop our bags off in the room. Imagine our horror when we opened the door to what we had been told was our room, and found someone elses luggage in the room, the bed unmade, and dirty laundry all over the floor. We were lucky that whoever's room that actually was .. wasn't in it at the time. We were also extremely lucky that we decided to drop our bags off when we did, and not go to the room for the first time after our party, which would have been the early hours of the morning. The the people at reception were extremely apologetic and said they had no idea how this could have happened. The next morning they also apologised again, and said they would waive the parking fee and our one mini bar charge. We accepted this. So I was extremely disappointed to get my next credit card bill and see they had in fact charged me for the bottle of water I had had from the mini bar. They apologised again when I rang and said they would credit me back. Not the point really .. as this none of this should have happened in the first place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our stay at the Grand Chancellor was our best night away to date. The location to the city, viaduct, fine dining is great. The room was pure luxury, fresh and clean with a view that will have you standing on the balcony just staring! Our room was very spacious and extremely tasteful making us releluctant to leave the room! Our weekend at the Grand Chancellor made our relaxing weekend away feel like a dream. Thanks heaps guys!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is in a good area, easy to find.
The pools were lovely and the beds were made nice and the hotel allways has good deals.
I could not state any bad stuff !!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v8supercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

was given a studio room with a single bed, when booking stated a queen bed would be provided. Room layout was awkward (around a corner of the hotel). Fittings chipped, cracked, poorly maintained, heating was not efficient in heating the whole room. As hotel is on a main road, you will need earplugs to get a decent nights sleep. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmbeeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel previously and it was so good decided to stay again. The advantage of this hotel is its central location, right in the city and in walking distance to the harbour, sky city, queen st etc. This is an apartment hotel so its a mix of property owners staying there and guests so you will see people who look like they live there. We didnt use all the facilities of the hotel so cant comment on pool, gym etc. but we did eat breakfast in the restaurant and it was very nice. The room we had was a decent size and had nice comfy beds (some of the comfiest ive slept in) and a shower without bath. It had a small balcony but it opened up over the reception entrance so we couldnt have it open as it would have been too noisy. We parked in the carpark (you have to pay) but it was a bit inconvenient as you had to get reception to "swipe" the evelator every time you needed to get to your car. Also be aware that the entrance is on a one-way street and there isnt much parking space by the reception. Overall, value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRocksKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

It really is "a short stroll" to the Auckland CBD and many sights and attractions.
Two room apartment city views with very good self-catering facilities.
Auckland's major supermarket is quite a distance away, about 1 kilometre.
We are no longer smokers, but the balcony would cater for those who are.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive.
Linen and bedding were very good and clean. The room's design was large enough and not 'poky'.
The only real fault was disco music could be heard from about 10pm at night. The odd thing was that it only lasted and hour, or so.
We elected not to have breakfast at the hotel, which was a poor decision on our part.
Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced.
Other rooms at the hotel feature a Northerly harbour view for more money. If you are that way inclined, and the harbour is very beautiful, you will get the sun throughout the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing