We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near to pier and town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Near to pier and town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2005

We had a suite in this hotel which was very strangely set out with kitchen area, lounge area and sliding doors to bedroom. This meant that the bedroom was really small and the doors had to be slid into the middle so that you could get into and out of bed. This meant we couldn't watch television in bed as one of the doors was always in front of the tele! Although there was a complementary bowl of fruit on the table.

The bathroom was small, but clean and well equipped.

The reception was helpful, the car parking was $15 per day, although we quite happily paid this for parking in such a busy city, especially this close to Christmas. The hotel kept the car even when we had booked out so we could have a good look around Auckland during the rest of the day before we had to drive to the airport.

Considering where the hotel is situated we had a good night's sleep and didn't find it too noisy. It was only a short walk to Sky Tower, the pier area and the rest of the city.

The breakfast was adequate, if not very inspiring. We ate out at the pier so can't make any comment about dinner.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Labyrinths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    173
    206
    101
    73
See reviews for
89
278
55
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2005

We are a family a four, myself, wife and two daughters in their 20's. We rented a two bedroom apartment on the 10th floor. It had a spectacular view of the harbor. The apartment was furnished with a modern, clean interior and fully equipped kitchen and a washer dryer combo in the bath.

The price of the apartment was less than two double rooms in spartan tourist class downtown hotels. I would highly recommend this hotel if you stay in the upper floors. Staff were courteous, helpfull and well informed. We bookended out trip to NZ at the Flag President Plaza and when we returned they upgraded us to thier very best 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor, at no extra charge. It was amazing. Life styles of the rich and famous is what we felt like.

The neighborhood outside the hotel is safe but rather barren but safe. Walk towards Victoria St and you'll see the Farmer's Plough, a very decent and freindly pub.

Parking is free if you request when you make a reservation. This is a great deal if you are touring NZ by car.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank djhere59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2005

Stayed at the President Plaza in late October. Staff were friendly but nothing overly helpful when checked in in mid afternoon and was given a room on the 1st floor. The fact that you have to take the lift to get to the first floor with no other access was a bit of a pain, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the non-smoking room had some of those tell-tale odours that told you it wasn't always non-smoking or someone had broken the rules recently. This is somewhat more annoying. I had booked using one of those last minute services and got quite a good price - so was not at all disappointed on that basis. The noise didn't annoy me as much as it seemed to have others - but for the convenience of the location right down by the Harbour - I would have expected a bit of street activity. All in all - a reasonable experience for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iambents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights and really thought it was terrible.
It was so noisy from the traffic. The hotel looks out to a main street, and there is a constant flow of traffic, day and night. If you want a good night sleep - don't stay here. The room was very small and very badly set out. The bedroom was small, the bathroom was tiny and there was only a 2 seater lounge to sit on in the lounge room.
It is very well positioned close to the viaduct harbour and the sky tower, and the gym and pool facilities were good. However I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax in a nice apartment. Very overpriced for what was offered.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2005

We arrived (2 adults 2 children) about 9pm on a wet Friday evening after a flight from Australia. There was noone in the lobbybut nevertheless the desk clerk watched us struggle with the luggage in the rain and made no move to help, nor even welcome us. We were put on the first floor in interconnecting rooms. Why couldn't we be higher? Because the "hotel" part is the first 3 floors, the rest are apartments. Could we change? No.
The rooms were awful- badly designed and cheaply finished. THe main bed did not fit properly in the room. No towel rail in the bathroom, hard pillows,tiny towels. Lots of traffic noise. Our car was at the bottom of the carpark ramp - 3 storeys down, but the clerk could not fix our key card to access that level. We had to ask at the front desk every time we wanted our car.
Supreme indifference when we checked out. Couldn't care less.
Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lapidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2005

We arrived at 7 AM and they let us check in early. They have a great assortment of free hot drinks in the room, which is complete with a kitchen. The gym and pool are free and have adequate facilities. Excellent location, 2 minutes walk to Sky Tower. The lobby staff are very friendly and can give recommendations for places to go. Very cheery dispositions at 7 AM. Clean and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Unellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2005

This hotel is amazing value for money. We paid $179 per night for an apartment on the 11th floor which had views of the harbour and the bridge. It was by far the best place we stayed in during our time in NZ. The bedroom was comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious and the living area/kitchen had everything required. There was also a washing machine and tumble dryer which came in handy. As well as the wonderfull views and excellent facilities, the hotel is only a 5min walk to the CBD and the waterfront which includes Princes Wharf.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing