We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had a fantastic time here I couldn't get over how friendly everyone was from the cleaners to the Management everyone was so helpful in every way. The front desk was always friendly, the chef is fantastic so don't be put of by the size of the restaurant the fare was as good as anywhere. Harry at the bar was always ready to replenish our drinks. Location was superb with only a short walk to the action on the Viaduct.
If your thinking of staying here do it

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBBrickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 749 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor. I had read some Ok reviews about this property but was very disappointed. The rooms were very badly laid out, light switches were in very unusual places, no bedside lights in the bedroom, no light switches near the bed. The bedroom was very small and no room for two people to have luggage.
The carpet in the lounge area was disgustingly stained.
Would never go back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wbanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for one night while on a shopping trip. I was pleasantly surprised, as I had read mixed reviews. The room was very nice, modern and spacious (we had a 1bdrm suite). Even had a little outdoor area. Clean and tidy, no noise issues. We had twin beds and I was happy to find they were double beds and not singles. The room wasn't ready on our check in at 2.15 (and we had somewhere to be at 3pm), however to their credit they sorted it and we were able to check in immediately. Excellent value at only $129! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleenaperi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed in a 2 BR apartment with kitchenette and a shared bathroom with a business colleague; the location was unbeatable relative to the action down at the harbor, and not too far of a walk to the great pubs / restaurants on Vulcan Lane. The breakfast at the lobby restaurant (not sure how it's affiliated with the hotel) could be greatly improved and doesn't offer much value for money. The reception / front desk staff are extremely helpful; security is decent with card key lift access. My only complaint about the room was that the interior decor was very basic and a bit tired, and for some reason, there were only 2 or 3 hangars in the entire suite, which was a bit strange. The sliding glass doors leading out to the spacious balcony (with great views by the way) does not offer much sound insulation from late night traffic, which is problematic. One of the two bedrooms was internalized (no exterior windows), but it had clerestories to allow a bit of light in from the living / dining area. Overall, I would stay here again for a business trip, but probably not my first choice for a romantic getaway ...

Room Tip: Harbor facing rooms have great views, but might suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumbling_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed in a studio apartment for 3 nights after a cruise. Hotel was only a short taxi ride from the port but was within a 10-15 minute walk away.
We had a room on the 1st floor at the front, very clean and efficent air con.
Hotel staff were very friendly.
We didnot use the other hotel facilities, choosing to eat out. Plenty of restaurants/coffee shops/ etc within a short walk.
The only down side for us was the "building site" next door. The noise of the digger and drilling started up at 7.30am and went on until 4.30pm so if you like a lie in then maybe this is not the place for you or ask for a room at the back.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to avoid the construction noise next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galapagosbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great location loved the Japanese teppanyaki restaurant lovely birthday celebration!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargsandGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Three sisters up to ronan had a two bedroom apartment for weekend was fantastic large clean great veiws will stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#54 of 66 in Auckland Central
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $107 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing