We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rangitoto Island

Rangitoto Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.10*
and up
Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket
Ranked #6 of 264 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This volcanic island, which last erupted 600 years ago, offers bird-watching, swimming, fishing, walking trails, colorful flora and spectacular views from the summit of its cone-shaped mountain.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Takes 25 minutes from Pier 2, Auckland. Cost $28 pp return. Get to pier early as ferry often departs before scheduled time. Bring food and drinks as there is nothing available on the island. A good walk to get to the summit, mostly gravelly paths, which can be a bit slippery, so wear good shoes. The effort is worth it once you get to the summit, the views are spectacular.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    528
    73
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun, active and enjoyable day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took our two small kids over for the day to Rangitoto. We went on a very hot, cloudless day and went on some of the bush walks and around the baches first and then found that when we went to walk up to the summit it was too hot for the children (4&6). In hindsight, we should have gone straight up to the sumit when we first arrived. There are not many swimming spots (unless you walk for 2 hours). When we arrived at Devonport to catch the ferry the seats were already sold so pays to get there early. There was a guided tour which we didn't take which I think may have been a good option for littlies. Great photo opportunities on the walks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton
Level Contributor
246 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Must do while you are in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a great day out. A 15 minute ferry ride on a Fullers ferry gets you there and the walk to the top of the volcano is really worth it. We also climbed through the lava caves which was great fun. Make sure you dress appropriately and take snacks and water. A great half day out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyLeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rangitoto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

great place, nice short ferry ride across, glorious day, fairly easy hike up to the top of the volcano, awesome views then went swimming afterwards down at the beach

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank neeshboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views at the Summit!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great way to spend the day! We had a great time! Nice boat ride overlooking the Auckland City!!! Stunning views at the Summit! You have to be fit to walk for 45mins to 1 hour! It is well worth it!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank divastarzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangitoto Island also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Rangitoto Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing