We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I thought.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rangitoto Island

Rangitoto Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.62*
and up
Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket
Ranked #6 of 260 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This volcanic island, which last erupted 600 years ago, offers bird-watching, swimming, fishing, walking trails, colorful flora and spectacular views from the summit of its cone-shaped mountain.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than I thought.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Took our tribe up to the top for the day (including a 3 & 5yr old) & was pleasantly surprised. Was a nice sunny day so quite warm with all the volcanic rock around. A bit of a hike, not too taxing if you allow plenty of time, but the views at the top were worth it. The dry track was quite slippery coming down so take appropriate footwear. Take a towel & have a swim back at the jetty while you are waiting for the ferry (if the tide is in). No shops or Cafes on the island so go prepared or buy stuff on the ferry. The ferries are punctual so dont be late. There is a train that can take you up but you need to pre-book it. Theres stops with info boards along the way and toilets on the island. Was enjoyable coz' the weather was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    528
    72
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent some childhood holidays here so was nice to revisit after such a longtime and see the renovated bachs. you have to walk to the top - better to visit in the cooler times as the volcanic rock under your feet gets really hot in summer

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andreat851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I wasn't sure about a trip to Rangitoto but I really enjoyed it. Do not go in Summer as it would be too hot. It looks green from Auckland but when you get there there is a lot of black rock that soaks up the sun and generates a lot of heat. The walk to the summit is good and you know you have done some exercise. There are some caves on the way up to look at - note to self, do not think about the Weta's or you won't investigate. The walk back down was easy. I went in April, was the perfect weather, cooler but rocks warmed by the sun.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“little volcano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rangitoto is a very nice walk to the the top and also the glow worm cave should also be visited it is a small island with nothing on it that`s what is great about it you must bring water and food for a half day and a light to explore the glow worm cave and don`t forget to be on the last ferry or they will leave you great views all around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank donrocco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Day Out on Rangitoto Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sent husband on Volcanic Explorer, all he had to do was climb the numerous steps at top to viewing platform, I had previously walked the track. I did several of the shorter walks close to the wharf area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangitoto Island also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Rangitoto Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing