We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On holiday in our home city!!”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Decided to spend a night in Auckland city and the Hotel de Brett was just the ticket for a lovely stay. We stayed in the two level loft suite and it was just wonderful. Beautifully decorated, a little quirky, gorgeous bathroom with the perfect bath for two. The bed was comfy and I loved the mini bar incorporated into the wardrobe. We even had a second shower/toilet area on the lower level. I would happily stay here again and tell my friends about it.
Valet parking was $20.00. Good value for the city. We didn't make it up in time for breakfast the next morning, so no comment for that. But did have a lovely brunch the previous day and the coffee was very good. Had a cocktail in the house bar before dinner and wish I could have had a few more.
The location is good as you can walk to the best shopping. One being the fantastic men's shop Strangely Normal.
We look forward to another visit to the deBrett.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

After reading all the great reviews, my partner and I were looking forward to ending our New Zealand holiday in style at Hotel DeBrett. We were impressed with the hotel itself - once a run down backpacker hostel, it has been beautifully refurbished with original, modern decor that gives it a lovely boutique feel, plus it is in a great location. There were a few small issues with the room - the bathroom bin had not been emptied from the previous occupants, and there was no iron or ironing board, which we found really frustrating. Otherwise, our room was lovely with great big windows looking over the High St shops.

We were, however, extremely disappointed with the service we received from the staff. In particular, the young man on the front desk was arrogant, condescending and did not make us feel welcome in the slightest. Similarly, we found the breakfast staff standoffish and vague, as was the girl on the front desk when we checked out. Given the excellent service we have received through out the rest of New Zealand, we were expecting much better from Hotel DeBrett. I know the hotel has reinvented itself as a funky, upmarket boutique, but a touch of warm and the odd smile would not go astray!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffiz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My wife and myself spent 2 nights here before starting a 3 weeks trip around New Zealand.
We had a really great stay and I wish to underline the extraordinary honesty of the staff. I left my wallet with all the credit cards and a lot of cash in the library from 11 pm to 9am. When I woke up and I didn't find the wallet in the room I really went into panic because the dreamed vacation was turning into a hell. But the wallet was at the reception and nothing was missing. Thank to all of the staff for their uncommon honesty.
Besides this, here my valution of the hotel:
Pros: excellent location, very confortable and top level rooms (no noise at all from the street), good breakfast, warm atmosfere and of course, again and again, great honesty.
Cons: the hall is quite small (but don't do the mistake to judge the hotel from its hall).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Me_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This hotel is obviously much more than an investment for the owners. It's a work of art. We found the staff and management very friendly and professional. The position could not have been better. The breakfast was excellent, with proper coffee! When next in Auckland we will be back.

Internet access is included in the room price, but is limited to one device at a time.

Hint: It is very elegant/trendy, and you will want to dress appropriately.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed with my husband for 2 nights in January. Good service, big rooms. I just loved the modern retro decor of my room and the whole hotel, I wished I lived there! Gorgeous designer bathroom with 2 sinks. The only fault was the awkwardness of having the open a glass door to get into the toilet. I enjoyed using their "library room", where you could hang out and have a drink or borrow some dvds, magazines, books etc and take them to your room. The borrowing system was a bit old school (honesty system) but I am honest :) Being able to catch up on the classic NZ film "The Piano" on the nice flat screen tv in my room was great. The best thing of all was the bed, I can't describe how comfortable it was, I was in heaven!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianRozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

From the moment I arrived at Hotel DeBrett reception the service was faultless. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was exceptional with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in; a well stocked mini bar with free snacks and coffee which were replenished every day, nothing was too much trouble.
I loved this boutique hotel with its wonderful decor, excellent dining, wonderful wine list and friendly helpful staff. I will be back ... without a doubt - a wonderful experience that has be be repeated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Brilliant property, very different and unique than the run of the mill chain hotels. Very tidy, great service. Fantastic location. Particulary like the drawing room concept with honesty bar -very kiwi! and the books/dvd's and board games to use FOC. The restaurant "Kitchen" is Fab, small but well chosen menu, the friends that joined me for dinner are still talking about it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $222 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing