We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, deserves number 1 spot in Auckland”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, deserves number 1 spot in Auckland”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Beautifully stylish (without being stuffy), really helpful staff, great location. I'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
732
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2010

After a 32hour flight, we' ve been welcomed by the very helpfull staff at Debrett's.
The interior is really nice and looks very european. We immediatelly felt at home.
Our room was very spacious and although it was at the streetside, there was no noise at all!
The bathroom was also very clean and beautifully decorated.
We loved the spacious tub!

All in all, it is a very great value for a wonderfull stay in a big city and the staff and hotel lets you feel like you're visiting friends.

Breakfast is also a winner!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed at Hotel de Brett with a last minute booking as our flight to Argentina was canceled due to the Chile earthquake. It was the first night of our honeymoon so we wanted somewhere a bit special...and special it was!! We absolutely loved the design of the building, furniture, decor etc..someone has really thought about every last detail! The service was brilliant and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We made good use of the library and the internet as we tried to reorganise our trip! The location was perfect for exploring Auckland with some good bars, cafes and the waterfront all close by. Our only issue was with the bed, whilst all the linen was lovely and of a very high quality, we found the bed itself to be very soft and both woke feeling a little sore. Could just be personal preference though.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a classy and boutique hotel experience in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatrockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed here our first two nights in New Zealand after a long flight from San Francisco. The bed was so wonderful, it was hard to get up and out! Our room overlooked the atrium which is a very cool space. There are double doors to the balcony to keep out noise but since we liked their choice of music, we often kept the doors open. We had all our luggage for a month's stay and there was plenty of room. The continental breakfast is superb. Lots of fresh fruit, freshly baked goods, yogurt, cereals etc. And really good coffee. The is staff wonderful. The location right down town is great if you don't have a car to worry about. Truly a perfect way to begin a trip and enjoy downtown Auckland. And those beds! We actually came home and bought ourselves a new mattress!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

What a great experience - Spend that little more on your room if you can - I was sharing with a friend and we had a wonderful 2 storey room with a spiral staircase, heavenly bathroom, separate cloakroom on the sitting room floor, 2 plasma screens and cosmically comfortable twin beds! (we even had a sofa bed downstairs, so one of us could escape when the other snored!).
The hotel is right in the heart of all the really good bits of Auckland - quirky little boutiques, wonderful cafes and restaurants and lots of things to do and see.
The restaurant and bar are set in this wonderful glass atrium, so you get all the benefits of sitting outside, but can enjoy the sun and the stars in all weather. Just wish I could get to Auckland more often!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our NZ holiday - well, what a start, this was the very best hotel of the lot! I would love to smuggle that bed home in my suitcase - normally hate hotels beds, but had the best sleep on this one - I could not believe it. We stayed in a fantastic 'Classic Room' which was very roomy & comfortable (and we are fussy). Beautiful bathroom, quality fittings and accessories, and everything spotlessly clean. The decor is truly amazing - down to every detail. Very good location, close to wharf & Skytower. Great little cafes round the corner in Vulcan Lane too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Great location, no view from rooms other than offices opposite so must be dressed the whole time whilst in the room. The closet space is tiny, a double closet half of which is given over to the mini bar and kettle the other half split into two spaces so no full length hanging. My husband was furious the room was so small and I wished that I had taken the larger option. We did enjoy the residents bar, free internet and breakfast though. The hotel is in the heart of the downtown shopping area. We enjoyed a lovely evening at a restaurants called Mollies, the owner used to teach Opera in NY and now had opening a school adjoining the hotel and every evening around 8pm puts on a wonder ful recital. I hear Clinton stays there when in Auckland. Also worth exploring is the harbour, we took a boat to Waikeke Island (1hr) and ate at one of the vineyards there. The hotel will arrange and you must organise the taxi to pick you up but a wonderful thing to do if you have a day spare. Quite a young hotel with laid back staff etc .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing