We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- Sensational”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow- Sensational”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

If you are looking for something a little different in a fantastic, but quiet downtown location- this is a must stay. Slightly retro fitout- very upmarket. Fantastically helpful staff. A real treat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    244
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
139
740
88
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

After having stayed at a couple of the bigger hotels in Auckland last year (Sky City Grand Hotel and the Hilton) we thought it would be nice to try one of Auckland's boutique hotels for a more authentic experience. I read reviews on tripadvisor which led me to Hotel DeBrett's website and I was immediately convinced it would suit us perfectly. It is just around the corner from "The Occidental" pub which must serve the southern hemisphere's best mussel pots, it is located right in the heart of the high end shopping precinct and is a short walking distance to some other great restaurants and bars. It is also quite easy to walk to the harbour from the hotel. The hotel's decor is outstanding - I kept finding unusual pieces to look at each day - the light fitting and rug in the atrium area are particularly noteworthy. One of my favourite holiday experiences was to spend a couple of hours whiling away a morning with a book and a pot of tea in front of the fire in the atrium. The hotel bar and restaurant are quite a busy hub, particularly on weekend nights when they spill out with locals and visitors, alike, but we did not notice this in the sanctuary of our room. The hotel's greatest asset, however, must be it's staff, and their enthusiasm for helping the guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. They must have brought my husband at least five different types of pillow to try until they found the one that he really liked and they did it all with a friendly smile instead of an eye roll which he might have received elsewhere. We are very keen to go back - in fact an email from them today reminded me to make this contribution and when i forwarded it to my husband his immediate response was - "when have you booked, and for how many nights?" Totally recommend the Hotel DeBrett - it is like no other.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Hotel DeBrett is one of my top 5 hotels of the world.

Eddie greets you at the door with a bright genuine smile. He takes your bags to your room where he shows you the facilities. Then you go on a tour of the Hotel, complete with commentary about the building's history.

Dinner in the hotel's "Kitchen" restaurant is superb. Daniel, the maitre de, has a wealth of knowledge and experience in the Auckland hospitality scene and a range of recommendations of other fine dining experiences.

The owners, John and Michelle are often about and are more than happy to talk you through the recent renovations or give you pointers on what to do around Auckland.

Aside from the funky deco fit out, what sets Hotel DeBrett above the others is the service. Impeccable, relaxed and most refreshingly genuine. All the staff genuinely eager to make your stay the best it can possibly be. True 5 star service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzBoySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This hotel is located in the business district one block from the main street and the airport bus stop. It is a short walk to the ferry terminals and the Maritime Museum. The hotel is new and the rooms are well appointed and very clean. There is a nice dining room, serving excellent food! Staff at this hotel were efficient, friendly and extremely helpful, we could not have asked for better service. We would also recommend the O'Connell Street Bistro in the same block which provided us with a wonderful dinner!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I think the most important thing to be shared is that the two one-star reviews for this hotel are based on a previous incarnation, when the hotel was a backpackers \ hostel—the new Hotel Debrett opened in February 2009 and it's clear that the total renovation to high-end hotel has been a complete success. This is a fabulous small boutique hotel with excellent shops in the complex and a busy, pretty first-floor restaurant \ bar. My "classic" room was huge, with a sitting room and separate bedroom, large flat-screen TVs in both. The very helpful staff was consistently kind and courteous. The High Street location made for a bit of a stressful valet situation on a (busy) Friday night, but the valets themselves were fabulous—I didn't get to fully experience shopping on this street, but the location seemed perfect and Unity Books up High Street is a great bookstore. (Valet parking was a reasonable $20.) Minor quibbles: I would have preferred better toiletries (Mollies has Molton Brown, for example), and I found the shower—handle? faucet? tap?—to be utterly aggravating. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a super cool, yet comfortable and friendly place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seat55E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This place has been restored to it's former glory (before it was a backpackers joint) by the current owner. From the first welcome the staff are friendly, helpful and informative. We were shown to our fatastic room, shown around and brought fresh milk to order for a cuppa on arrival. The rooms are a good size with a fantastic bathroom - double sinks, separate showers, enormous baths.

The details applied to the finish in the hotel complement the traditional decor of the hotel and the the open atrium bar/ restaurant provides a great spot for breakfast in the morning. The care and attention in this hotel is extended to the choice of boutique shops and bars that are present around the ground floor and add to the character of the area.

I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boydy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This is the best Hotel i have ever stayed at in Auckland. The service was outstanding, the rooms cool, with some of the best bathrooms I have seen in a hotel. The best part is the cool bar and drawing room and the place just oozes charm and character. Location is brilliant and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing