We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little hotel in the heart of the city”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little hotel in the heart of the city”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I knew we were in for a good stay when driver of the airport shuttle bus told us this was the best hotel in Auckland. My boyfriend took me here for my 30th birthday and we had a small suite with a spacious seating area, smaller bedroom (but a huge bed) and a beautifully appointed bathroom with a bath that could probably accommodate four people (if you were so inclined).

There was a continental breakfast included in the room rate and there was a wide selection of home made muselis, fresh and stewed fruit, yoghurt and pastries, all of which were delicious.

The decor is a mish mash of everything from art deco to fifties and it creates a unique and cosy environment. The staff were really good, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pundle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    241
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
135
735
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

DeBrett is a different kind of hotel. In fact, does not feel like a hotel at all. From the moment I walked in the first time the feeling was very personal, very looked after. Reception is more than helpful and quests are escorted to their rooms. 5 stars.

Everything down to tiny details in DeBrett is tasteful (IMHO) designed and very high quality. Bit quirky in most positive way. Beds are a dream! In addition to excellent small restaurant and bar, DeBrett also provides a Drawing Room for guests. A comfortable library-like room with reading chairs, internet access and honesty bar. Home away from home to me.

The second time you visit, you will feel like an old friend. If you had any special requests during your stay - they will be remembered and discreetly provided.

Location is excellent. Few minutes walk from waterfront, shops, restaurant and activities.

No gym, swimming pool or spa onsite, but there is an arrangement with next door gym for high quality facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This small intimate inner city hotel is such a treat in contrast to the big chain hotels. The retro fit with the furniture and general decor had a feel good factor. Our room overlooked the street, but was not noisy. It was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with a tick for having the toilet closed off. Luxurious robes, above average quality of complimentary beverage and bathroom product gave a feeling of indulgence and free wifi is another bonus. We enjoyed excellent cuisine with early meal option prior to attending the opera and were delighted to find the kitchen happy to serve us dessert when we returned several hours later. The included breakfast was a perfect start to the day complete with excellent coffee . We loved the quirky feel of the dining/lounge area in the atrium with the crazy light fittings. From welcome to check out we could not fault the service. I hope we will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms look over the inner atrium which houses the restaurant and bar. Others look over the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This small boutique in central Auckland was a treat. We were upgraded to a duplex suite which was quiet, spacious and had a fabulous retro feeling. The bed upstairs was comfy and huge with excellent quality linen. The bathroom another retro delight and massive with a huge bath and walk in shower. Downstairs was a comfortable lounge and large TV. Only complaint was the poor kitchenette - just a sideboard really with no wine glasses and nowhere to plug a kettle - used the writing desk in the end. Downstairs toilet good planning. We loved the restaurant and got lazy and ate there twice, the steak was a triumph. Breakfast adequate but fairly limited unless ordering off the menu. Service very good. Pre-dinner drinks in the parlour good fun and an opportunity to chat with other guests. Good WiFi - OK to use more than one device, just got more codes!. Would stay again. Easy access to airport bus and main shopping centre/dock are.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel was a great find when I was looking for a hotel to surprise my partner with for his birthday. Our room was a delight, very spacious with wonderful unique details. The bed was very comfy and a bath so deep that just had to be soaked in. The staff were fantastic and very helpful and even lent us a laptop when we were having trouble connecting to the internet with our own. .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigg1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'd been to Hotel DeBrett for drinks before for work, and booked a one night stay in the hopes of a "non hotel" experience. Hotel DeBrett did not disappoint.

From a warm welcome on arrival, to a seamless venue for a meeting, through to the elegant room with wonderful Art Deco touches and New Zealand teas and coffees (and dark chocolate it must be said), I enjoyed every moment.

This was topped off with a wonderful experience after work in the drawing room, where I met other travellers and unusually for a work trip, ended up sharing a great meal and conversation with a retired couple from Melbourne.

Service throughout was top notch.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielperera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Hotel Debrett is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful great city. The rooms are spacious, immaculate, and comfortable. The professional staff could were great and went out of their way to be helpful. And don't miss the restaurant for great breakfasts and dinners. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to tour the city or needing a great respite before or after a cruise. Book early because this gem will fill fast.

Richard B

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing