We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy inviting hotel with a mid century flair and wonderful staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trendy inviting hotel with a mid century flair and wonderful staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

From our arrival until check out the level of service we received was superb. The interiors are warm and inviting and the suite had everything to make it a perfect stay.
A special thank you to Rachel, Scarlett, Olivia and Sante for going above and beyond. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
132
719
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Funky little hotel, very well done over, great and modern rooms in an "old" hotel space. Great people, very central. Good value. Are returning for an overnight on our way home from Perth. Would definitely recommend to any couple. Also good for business travelers. Kinnaman's of Savannah. Keep doing what you are doing Michele and partner.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I can't really fault this place. We stayed here for two nights whilst in Auckland. The fitout is excellent and leaves nothing to be desired (except maybe a view). It has a nice eclectic feel making it very different to your usual hotel.

The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We were escorted to our room which is a nice touch. The room had an excellent sized bath and the shower was amazing. The bed was comfy and they have a pillow menu.

I agree with previous reviews about breakfast - it is a tad on the skimpy side but fine if you don't have high expectations. We also ate at the restaurant which that night had live jazz playing. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.

Highly recommend Hotel Debrett

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just spent 3 nights here in a loft suite. I love hotels with strong themes and this certainly does mid-century modern very well. The bed is possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in (I was tempted to strip it to find its brand!). The staff were friendly but not gushy - which I like. The position is perfect with lots of good restaurants around. We ate at the hotel one night - very good menu and the food matched. Continental breakfast (which was included in the room tariff) wasn't that impressive so we ordered poached eggs on toast. When you compare the meals - value for money for dinner far outweighed the value for breakfast. My only criticism (and it's my problem), we were in a suite that overlooked the restaurant. No views outside the hotel and whenever you were in the room, you felt it necessary to draw the curtains leaving me feel a bit claustrophobic. Would I stay there again - definitely (if I could be guaranteed a room with a street view).

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room with a window facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

There are so many great things about H de B that it almost seems churlish to highlight the areas of shortfall. However if these were remedied it would go from "good" to "great" overall. The in room bathroom products are just downright inadequate and it grates to have to pay to supplement their inadequacy. At the prices charged it is disappointing to pay extra for a hot breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel DeBrett is a wonderful, stylish hotel. It has spacious, modern rooms. My husband and I went for one night and absolutely loved everything about our stay. We started with a cocktail at the housebar, had a drink in the drawing room then dinner at DeBrett Kitchen. The next morning we had the complimentary continental breakfast which was excellent as well. All in all a perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JShoeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel DeBrett, and it was wonderful. As others have said, the design is interesting and beautiful. The location is great-- easy access to the main streets with public transport, the waterfront, and for our departure, the train station. Our corner room (above one of the 2 bars) overlooked 2 streets, but we never heard traffic or bar noise. The room was spacious and well laid out, with plenty of seating, storage and counter space so we didn't feel cramped, The staff were most helpful, suggesting great restaurants (including their own). The continental breakfast, included in our room rate, offered numerous choices of cereal, home-baked pastries, and fruit. Everyone we dealt with seemed to take pride in providing the best service to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing