We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel to Date”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Australia/New Zealand. At the beginning of our trip in Sydney we were booked into the Four Seasons, which couldn't compare by a mile to the awesome DeBrett at nearly half the price. At the Four Seasons you could have been anywhere in the world and not known the difference. You will never forget your stay at the DeBrett, where every one of the 25 rooms is different and interesting. Ours had a balcony overlooking the indoor dining and lounge areas. The décor is mid-century modern and everywhere you look there is something interesting to see, beginning with the mirror tile elevator. We checked in before our room was ready and they let us into the comfortable library, complete with an Apple laptop for guest's use and an honor bar. The only complaint I have is the complimentary breakfast was tiny and consisted of only cereals, rolls and fruit. I ordered the egg and bacon croissant to supplement and it was strange. The bacon was on the dry croissant and the eggs were scrambled on the side. It took a long time to come, as did the coffee, which was being prepared cup-by-cup and took ages. I hesitated to ask for a refill. The hotel is located in a nice area with lots of restaurants and little shops to choose from. I would definitely recommend the DeBrett to anyone visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely dinner and drinks at their restaurant upon arrival. The food was wonderful and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is conveniently located to bars, restaurants and the wharf. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Our breakfast in their restaurant was really good and very reasonably priced for the items we added to the complimentary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel dates back to the 1920s. At one time it went into decline and became a backpackers hostel. However it has recently been refurbished, keeping a lot of the original features with a charming and quirky style. The staff are super friendly, the rooms are stylish and clean with some lovely quirky touches. I especially liked the little tune the safe plays when you open and close it. The food is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We started our New zealand journey at Hotel de Brett and it was fantastic. Nice rooms, helpfull staff and lots information on what to do. We are actually going back there to finish our trip. Good breakfast and coffee, nice showers the works

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014


We stayed at De Brett for four nights. The location is awesome and the service is good. The staff were very helpful in terms of suggesting us places to go and things to do. They were also great in accomodating our requests as we were traveling with two young kids (room selection and cots/crib). The valet parking service (at $25 per night) was quick and efficient. Those were the pros.

The cons were chiefly two - very limited break-fast and a limited data quota on wifi.  To me it appeared that both these "inclusive for free" stuff were just to tick the box rather than being adequate. Had it not been for these two points, I would have rated it higher. 

Net net, do stay there but taper your expectations on these two counts.

And by the way - DO go to Cathedral Cove at Hahei Beach while in Auckland. Beyond awesome!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank hwm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My favorite hotel in New Zealand. Excellent location just off the main shopping street and a five minute walk to the waterfront. Rooms and common areas very tastefully decorated. Staff extremely helpful. We mess up our booking, and they immediately adjusted for us. We then left a shirt in the room, which they found and offered to mail to us. Restaurant is excellent. Great bar and reading room. Live music the night we were there. Free wifi. Would rate six stars if I could.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay here.
Service amazing: prompt, friendly, helpful.
Room: twin share, luxe beds, linen, bathroom, tea and coffee.
Other: Free wifi, dvds, happy hour drink in drawing room. Free continental breakfast - delicious. Also had lunch here one day - delicious soup with homemade gluten free bread and grilled vegetables. Luxe, boutique feel. Amazing interior design and architecture.
Location: central - 10 mins max walk to harbour and ferries. Many restaurants / takeaways / liquor shops nearby. We tried nearby sushi and kebabs - both delicious.
Highly recommend a stay here. Thank you Hotel de Brett.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckLovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $277 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing