We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely experience”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Loved the decor, loved the experience staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved the pre dinner drinks in the drawing room very unique. Simple yet filling continental breakfast. Great location would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinks063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    241
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
732
84
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We recently had a 2 night stay at this delightful hotel. The car parking is well organized, after unloading our luggage, the car was whisked away but available at any time with a few minutes notice. Our room was not huge, but beautifully furnished especially the high tech lighting and communications equipment. The bed is exquisitely comfortable, there is absolutely no street noise thanks to double glazing so restful sleep is assured. The bathroom decor is elegant with a large shower and a huge bath all with fabulous contemporary fittings and space to move. We enjoyed using the guest lounge where complimentary drinks are served each evening. Dinner on our first evening at the restaurant was a nice experience with a good menu and knowledgable staff. The delicious continental breakfast has plenty of choice. Staff were friendly and very helpful with our questions on sightseeing and road maps etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I put this hotel on my radar for an Auckland destination after reading a most favorable review last year in the Globe & Mail and subsequently following up on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The service was exemplary and the hotel itself is quite stylish. The continental breakfasts were a great way to start the day. We did have dinner in their restaurant which was outstanding on our last night. The location can't be beat and the complimentary pre-dinner cocktail in the drawing room is a welcome touch.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Charming hotel, beautiful breakfast room, and a great location! I loved the room, especially the bathrooms. The staff was helpful in giving us directions and suggestions on where to go. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfvigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
323 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The DeBrett is located in the very center of Auckland inner city, in High Street, right next to Volcano Lane where all the pubs are and to Queens Street where all the shopping is. Down to the Harbour it's 5 mins of walk.
Our room was quite big with a real big and modern bathroom. The bed was a dream, I rarely had such a cosy bed and it was perfect to recover the 30 hours trip we had coming from Germany.
The service is superfriendly and helpful with everything. There is still family room where you can enjoy free pre dinner drinks at 6:30 pm and talk to other guests. Sunday night there is live music in the bar.
Only two downsides, the continental breakfast buffet is limited in variety and the room was a bit cold even though we switched the aircondition off.
But overall a great place to be, definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: The rooms of silence are towards the street, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Whilst the decor is a bit OTT for my liking, the rooms are very comfortable, breakfast nice (although a little limited).

The location is perfect, nice and central, but not on a main road.

But most importantly perhaps, the front desk staff are very knowledgeable. During my stay they gave me a number of "off the beaten track" restaurant recommendations, all the ones I tried were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding and absolutely loved it. From the colourful carpets to the gorgeous mirrored, brass lift there is nothing to fault. Check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. We were shown to our room and given a wee tour of the hotel and made it in time for complimentary drinks in the private drawing room. The furniture is great throughout, retro but not cheap and tacky. The room was great, not massive but perfectly designed. A previous review complained about the heavily scented diffusers, we just moved ours into the bathroom which made it more subtle, no dramas. The bed, pillows and bedding were gorgeous and we had a great sleep, the bathroom was superbly fitted with everything you need and more. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
The two nights weren't long enough and we will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing