We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime, restful, eclectic, welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sublime, restful, eclectic, welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Staying weekly in Auckland for many years, I was delighted to find this hotel this year. The decor is fantastic, tasteful, practical and comfortable. The staff are wonderful. The central location is perfect for hectic business days - minimising a lot of CBD commute times, but fast access to the motorways. There are lots of options for working, in the room, in the lounge areas, or the bar. The restaurant is excellent, the bar intimate, the fireplace in the lounge atrium is great. You can base yourself here and manage any event from business to social; from one-to-one through to catered dinners for large groups. Even though this hotel is small, the flexibility and capabilities are great. My biggest fear is that other people will discover DeBrett's and I will find it harder to get a room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, but the same carpet and decor theme links them. if you stay more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
132
719
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
370 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,823 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the nicest boutique hotels we have ever stayed in - lovely tasteful design and every piece has been carefully chosen. A wonderful location in the heart of some lovely lanes and shops and very close to the harbour. Amazingly for a small city, Auckland is very design focussed and the nearby shops had wonderful products.
The breakfast is wonderful; probably one of the best we have ever had and the bacon was amazing. Top service in the restaurant.
Unfortunately, the good things were offset by the bad - the front-of-house and management is poor.
We had arrived very late from an international flight and all our front desk man was focussed on was a tip.
The rooms are small and we had been promised a suite ; I asked about our guaranteed late check-out and he said our room was booked so he couldn't do much.
My pet hate in Australia and New Zealand is a 10.00 am check-out and DeBrett is fairly rigid on this - notwithstanding our guaranteed 1.00 pm check-out.
It seems our room was part of a suite and they had locked the door to the adjoining living area.
The killer blow though was the Wi-Fi outage. We had been in the French Polynesian islands for 10 days with almost no internet reception and it was critical that I catch up with some work.
From 6.00 am to just on 10.00 am I was hovering around the desk checking on availability but with no success - they suggested that perhaps I wander around the corner to McDonald's which would have better Wi-Fi.
Just as we were leaving at 10.15 am, the manager smiled and said it is all good, the internet is available. I felt like posi-travels below who got their breakfast after checkout.
Such a pity - it is a beautiful hotel but it needs better management.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our two-year anniversary at Hotel DeBrett. Our room was amazing - especially the bathroom - and the service was great! The location is really handy to Britomart where there are loads of good restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow_the_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but we found it to be a great little hotel in a fabulous location. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and, when asked, pointed us in the direction of a great restaurant nearby where we had a lovely dinner. Rooms are small but funky and great bathroom. We'd definitely stay here again if we returned to Auckland.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The DeBrett has a central location to all activities in Auckland. Shopping, ferries, restaurants, and museums are all within a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is comprised of a few older buildings that have been renovated and surround an enclosed atrium that includes the restaurant lounge and bar. Our first room was on the first floor open to the atrium and was not very private. We were moved to another room that opened to the exterior of the building and were very pleased with the room and how the hotel staff took care of our request. Our two story suite was quite comfortable with a modern a well appointed bathroom. The decor of the rooms is very contemporary in both the furnishings and accessories. The restaurant is excellent and you can find locals eating there as well as the guests of the hotel. If you like small hotels with personal service I would recommend the DeBrett.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had occasion to stay in Akld last weekend for a friends wedding reception & general shopping & dining out few days. Decided to give this very styly wee hotel a go. From Check in to Check Out we were impressed with staff, the room (we got an upgrade) and warm & cosy atmosphere of the place. Very centrally located it is just a hop,skip & jump to the Viaduct Night Life & Restaurants and Britomart is a must see..especially the markets down there Saturday morning.Fantastic Place to stay...nothing was too much trouble. Young & Friendly staff who made our stay an awesome experience. Top Marks and we will absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for the mini suite on level 2 - room 1.6. Bathroom awesome..bed SOOOO comfy and NOSTREET NOISE d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have just departed Hotel Debretts and it's sad to go, this 25 room boutique hotel is fantastic , very peaceful, bathroom, bedroom ,lounge are of a great size , I stayed in a loft room and it was fantastic . The location is outstanding . The hotel is very clean and beds are top of the line. If your looking for a boutique experience this is the place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing