We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have just departed Hotel Debretts and it's sad to go, this 25 room boutique hotel is fantastic , very peaceful, bathroom, bedroom ,lounge are of a great size , I stayed in a loft room and it was fantastic . The location is outstanding . The hotel is very clean and beds are top of the line. If your looking for a boutique experience this is the place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a Saturday night towards end of June and a Tuesday night early July. This hotel has a nice unique feel to it and the service is friendly. The rooms are interesting, if a little qurky and the hotel public spaces compliment the relaxed stylish feel. We ate at Kitchen (the hotel restaurant) for dinner on the Saturday night and enjoyed the meal and atmosphere, and lunched on the Wednesday. Rated in the top 50 in town it served enjoyable food. I would have liked a wider wine list by the glass. The guest lounge is a nice retreat from the bustle of the public areas which are cosy and we used the DVD collection. The location is ideal to walk to some of the fun areas of Auckland. The hotel has much to offer and I enjoyed the second stay more than the first as I felt I understood the hotel more and how to take advantage of what it offered.

We booked the O'Connell Suite for both nights so the sofa could be made up as a second bed for our daughter (aged 15) and the first night we "upgraded" to a Loft Suite. Having stayed in both I would have preferred not to have the upgrade as the O'Connell offered more room for the made up bed - in the loft suite we had to manouver around the made up bed constantly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nearly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Quirky, good location but pricey
I wanted to give a rave review like all the others on TA but this hotel didn't represent good value for the price I paid. I booked the duplex O’connell suite for 3 nights in the winter upgrade package for $350 Per night. We decided to try debretts instead of the usual more corporate hotels we stay in.

The suite was very pokey, not at all what it looks like in the photos. Narrow staircase and small bedroom and lounge. All is immacutely and stylishly appointed but nevertheless tight. I especially didn't like the concrete wall immediately outside the lounge window. Although it afforded privacy it gave a 'cavelike' feel to the room.
A summary of the pros and cons:
Pros
Nicely appointed, quality fittings. Comfy bed with luxury cotton linens
A1 location for shops and ferry terminal and inner link buses
Unique experience, not a cookie cutter one!
Good free wifi, I didn't have any speed problems
Nice bathroom

Cons
Tight feel to rooms, didn't like concrete wall outside window
Standard amenities expected for that room rate were absent eg had to ring reception for milk and daily paper, although they came promptly it was inconvenient to have some one knocking on the door to deliver these things
Too many light switches, confusing (I counted 10 in the bedroom/bathroom area)
No opening windows so have use airconditioning 24/7
Extra charges eg to make up the sofabed is an additional $50 on top of an already hefty tariff, parking $25
Continental breakfast included is adequate but could be improved with the addition of some cheeses and cold meats. It was all pastries and breads and cereals.

I would suggest if you want to stay here you obtain a discounted rate and call through asking specifically for a room without the concrete wall outside or one that faces inward to the dining atrium (see some of the other reviews).
Even though it was a different experience I think I'll go back to the 2 brm exec apartment package at City Life which has twice the space and is similarly located near central Queen St.

Room Tip: Ring through and be specific about which room you are being allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yeowon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed just one night and wished we had longer. We upgraded to a boutique suite on a special and it was totally worth it. Such a beautiful building and fantastic decor. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Bar and restaurant fantastic. What a treat after so many 'same same' hotels. Will definitely go out of my way to get back there asap.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you are ever tempted to splurge on a good nights sleep this is the place to do it. I will never forget how comfortable this place is. Check out the pillow menu. Terrific deco decor. Great location. Friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: No pool. Third floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of the best boutique hotels I've stayed in. I have no hesitation recommending it and will stay again if I find myself in Auckland. Eclectic and a little bit retro, it has a happening bar and a top restaurant. Charming private drinks for guests in the drawing room each evening and the delightful surprise of a turn down service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laptop_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

a few words are very less to discribe this hotel, one of the very best i have stayed in, lovely room, clean , great vibe and extremly friendly staff , you guys shoud be 6 not 5 star ,, my tip make sure you visit the bar and order al-lart for breakfast
will come back soon

love

Mira

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AucklandCulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $250 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing