We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Boutique Hotel in Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Boutique Hotel in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A small hotel two blocks from waterfront. Staff were always helpful and informative. The design of the hotel very unique and modern. Our room looked into a created glass covered atrium and restraurant. A drawing room offerred wine and beer before diner and a chance to socialize with other guests. Breakfast was nice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    183
    59
    18
    10
See reviews for
112
600
70
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We were booked at this hotel by our travel agent. This small ,very well appointed Hotel was a special treat. It is located near the cruiseship docks and central Auckland. The restaurant breakfast was excellent and is a destination for Auckland businessmen for lunch .....I was impressed by all of the waitstaff , but most notable was the detail and preservation of the original wood construction mixed with funky floor covering and bright Art Deco furnishings.....I met the very pleasant owner by chance and she is rightfully very proud of her establishment...would only stay at the De Brett when I return to Auckland.....boofus36. Michigan

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a small, very good hotel, well-located close to the waterfront in Auckland. The decor is very pleasant, and reflects the warm, vibrant nature of the place. We were greeted with a smile and the staff at all times were really welcoming, in a way that came over as totally sincere. A complimentary welcome drink allows time to meet and chat with the owner and other guests, and this was a lovely touch. Very comfortable bed too, and a good location close to the water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms are wonderful with such unique, purchasable, decor. The location was good and the staff were so welcoming and friendly. They could not do enough. A must when staying in Auckland. Everything was suburb, right down to their toiletries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time staying at this hotel. It is centrally located, it's an old building which has been completely remodeled with imagination, warmth, great style, and attention to detail. 1970's Scandinavian furniture uphostered in warm autum color fabrics dominates the public area. We stayed here for three nights which included celebrating New Year's Eve at their restaurant. It was a five course meal..the service was outstanding and we had complimentary moet & chandon. The decor is modern/funky/artsy decor. Staff is friendly and helpful with local things-to-do and reservations. Free internet and continential breakfast a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and went to a fashion show at DeBretts Auckland last Saturday. It was part of the Auckland Festival. We had a lovely lunch as we watched the fashion show. My wife is a vegan and when we booked our tickets, I checked that she could have a vegan lunch. The chef was happy to oblige. Her lunch was delicious, as was mine. The service from bar staff and waiters was exemplary, attentive and made us feel very welcome.

We got to have a look at some of the suites ands rooms at the DeBrett Auckland, they were a wonderful mix of luxury, retro and funky.

Thanks again, we had a wonderful time, and will return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Apparently back in the 80s this was one of the THE places to go drinking in central Auckland. In the 90s it became a real dodgy hangout. Now it’s out to be the city’s best hotel. (Note: some locals didn’t realise it had become this uber-chic hotel and still talked of it being a “dive” which this hotel certainly isn't).

Extremely well-appointed, very stylish, modern rooms sit alongside a more traditionally laid-out reception. Parts of the bar area look as if they were once in an outside courtyard which has since been covered.... that may be just for effect though and did remind me ever so slightly of a hotel in Las Vegas, but in a good way - honest!
.
The room was great: we spent three nights in one of the “basic” classic rooms which was plenty big enough for us: a big, very comfortable bed, plenty of closet space, a seating area and a bathroom which included a walk-in shower, twin sinks and one of the biggest baths you’ve ever seen!

Each evening between 6.30 and 7, guests are invited to partake of a drink in the Drawing Room. You can choose to keep to yourself but, if you’re going to bother to indulge, it’s far easier to join in and share sight-seeing experiences with the other guests.

The staff are very friendly and efficient (with one exception outlined below).

Valet parking was NZ$20 per night which is well worth paying given the hotel’s location.

Continental breakfast is included in the price (NZ$ 300 per night if you're wondering) and was the cause of one of two gripes I have. On a Sunday morning we arrived well before the end of service and several of the tables remained uncleared. The selection of bread, butter and jam was also severely depleted and it seemed to take a long time for the staff to get sorted (despite being asked). This did only happen on one day out of three but it was the cause of some irritation.

The other gripe I have is around wi-fi access whereby each room is given its own username and password. This means only one person can access the internet at a time: when one person is using it, the other person (or, I guess, people if there’s more than two of you sharing a room) can't. Towards the end of our stay we became aware of a guest who’d requested (and obtained) a second username but this wasn’t given as an option at check-in. Not a major problem but, in a hotel which is obviously aiming to be classed as one of the best in Auckland, I'd call it a bit of an inconvenience.

In the end though, despite these couple of reservations, I would definitely recommended Debrett as a very well-located, friendly and comfortable place to stay in Central Auckland.

Room Tip: I've seen reviewers suggesting avoiding the internal rooms as they overlook the courtyard meanin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing