We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, will definitely stay there again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it, will definitely stay there again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stylish, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Amazingly good soundproofing, we couldn't hear anything from the busy road outside. Very comfortable beds and nice size room. Would stay there over the Hilton any day.
Kitchen restaurant is in a great setting, with a good value breakfast. High St is perfect for designer clothes shopping..............

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NPP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    233
    72
    22
    11
See reviews for
131
719
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Every detail has been thought of here. The room the service and the restaurant. An ideal romantic hideaway with access to all Aucland has to offer.

Retro furniture brings a real Kiwi feel to your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked for several nights at the beginning of a month long visit. We had a desire for a quiet place downtown where we could relax and switch time zones, 8 in total. Arriving before diner, we checked into our room, a suite with a small sitting room that was made up each night for our grade 2 son. We received everything we expected, breakfast was included and more then sufficient for the start of the day. Excellent room service both in the morning and evening. The special touch for us was the evening gathering in the Drawing room, hosted by one of the owners, John or Michelle. Both of them were very open, personable and extended an excellent level of hospitality, making us feel very comfortable, our son was just as excited to go each night. Each day we were excellently situated to explore the surroundings. Outstanding welcome and introduction to New Zealand/Auckland hospitality. Thanks to all at DeBrett staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptunesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our first two nights in NZ where spent in the excellent Hotel DeBrett! We arrived at 9am due to our flight from Hong Kong, our room wasn't ready but we were given access to the private lounge and given coffee. We only waited 40 minutes before our room was ready.
Very helpful staff and a great location for the centre of town.
We recommend 'Wildfire' in the harbour area, 10 min walk from the hotel, for a unique dining experience.
Our room was very comfortable, our daughter slept on the sofa bed in the lounge area, which was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom was incredible with a huge shower!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hotel DeBrett was a great little find - very central, close to shops, great bars and restaurants, everything you need in a city hotel, but better. The decor is really funky, with comfortingly familiar 60s and 70s reproduction furniture lovingly sourced by owner/manager Michelle for her "25 bedroom home." Welcome drinks in the drawing room were a nice touch, as was espresso coffee with breakfast. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant, Kitchen, the night we arrived, but you are spoiled for choice when it comes to dining as there are also meals available in the House bar, and the Corner bar downstairs. Quiet rooms, a lovely big bath and a super comfortable bed make for a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a city escape - hotel is An excellent location in central city - walk to some of Aucklands best restaurants and busy bar scene. There is a lovely small bar at the hotel. The room was small and well appointed - the bed is amazing - most comfortable ever and I've stayed in plenty. Most surprising was how quiet the room was given the location. A great boutique hotel without being stuffy or pretentious. Will definately be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was my third visit to Auckland; my first stay at Hotel DeBrett. The location is perfect for access to the waterfront and to the Central Business District. The property itself is comfortable and homey, and the staff attentive and very responsive to guest needs. While they are friendly and genuinely concerned, staff members are appropriate in their relationship with guests -- they are warm but not intrusive. Rooms are very comfortable and nicely laid out; a continental breakfast is included in the room rate, as is internet access. While prices may appear high to some, in relation to hotels of comparable quality and amenities Hotel deBrett is reasonably priced and quite competitive.

I would not hesitate to return to the hotel on a future trip. It is also worth noting that the hotel has an excellent reputation among locals, especially among folks who work in the hospitality industry. As a boutique hotel, one is given a feeling of being welcome and, given the small size, experience an attentive staff who personalize their service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Property: Hotel DeBrett
Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing