We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORIC BOUTIQUE HOTEL”
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel DeBrett
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A tremendous place to stay. Artdeco in Auckland, superb new interior design in keeping with the buildings origins, lavish bedrooms and bathrooms almost all of which are internal, but the interior design and outstanding acoustics and a feature making the whole experience memorable. A great dining room and bar. Outstanding staff and owners with all the New Zealand charm and eagerness to please so typical of the country. Truly historic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were in Auckland for a week (Staying at The Heritage Hobson St) and had dinner thursday the 23rd feb. The restaurant (the kitchen) was an intimate dining experience. One of my teenage daughters is coeliac and they were so accommodating. The service was exemplary and
the waiter made our daughter feel special instead of different. Kneeling beside her and taking time to explain her options from the menu. That's not to say we were neglected of course! Far from it! Its definitely not a cheap option but for affordable fine dining its up there among the best! Meals were lovely and hot. And when it came to desert they made our daughter a special dish as they were out of something on the menu.The wine was great and couldn't fault the dishes or service. WE had a great night out!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boardboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night with some friends at the start of our road trip through New Zealand.

The room was extremely comfortable and nicely decorated. The bar has a really nice rustic feel to it. They serve really good breakfast which we really needed considering the amount of driving we had to do that day.

The location of the hotel is really good and is within walking distance of most of the central shopping district of Auckland.

The staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

After my overnight flight and the Super Shuttle into Auckland, I dragged my suitcase and tote bag into Hotel DeBrett, as a stylish young woman rushed out to meet me. Usually its not good to arrive at 8 a.m. on a Sunday morning at a hotel with only 25 rooms. In this case, the room wasn't ready, but the welcome was.

OK, it’s trendy. The carpets have stripes in sky blue, pumpkin orange, white, a red that’s between maroom and fire engine. There are sofas, sort of retro. She apologized that checkout was at 10 a.m., and took me upstairs to the “library.” Really. Books, DVDs, sofas, a leather lounge chair right next to a MacBook already connected to the internet.

Another beautiful young woman came in to ask how I’d like coffee, and they said, surely I could have the complimentary continental breakfast even though it wasn't supposed to be included this morning. A woman from Spokane, Wash., was in there too and she gave me advice about my trip to the Bay of Islands in northern New Zealand.

And when I finally reached my room, there was the carpet again, with a dark green, gold and burnt red tri-color accent pillow, a black and white photo of something abstract ver the bed, and hunter green lacquered backboard to the bed, curtains to hide the bed/

Walls of the bathroom, with a heated black tile floor, were black tile polka dots on white background. The white bathtub, deeper than some pools, had a lime green ladder crawling out from the top of it to the ceiling. For design? Or for drying hand-washed underwear? Whatever, I like whimsical.
There also was a shower with a rainfall head from the ceiling and another hand-held shower head. Retro 60s chairs were gray, one plastic-form at the blond and mirrored desk was white. There were incense sticks, a flat Sony TV with a DVD player. Pillows were down, and the black and white coverlet had something in French written in it, and black and white pictures of old French ladies. And it was quiet and I fell asleep.
When I woke up, I discovered what a great location this hotel was in - the waterfront was about four blocks, there were several pubs around the corner - and the welcome back was always as friendly as the first.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisianaRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A very nice, clean, and luxurious boutique hotel in the center of Auckland - walking distance to great shopping and the harbor ferries. The food is great and the decor is quirky and fun. The hotel has a tremendous amount going for it and is a great stop in Auckland.
The one big drawback is the internet: it is very hard to use and limiting and once you are on it, it is slower than molasses. If you recall dial-up modems from the early nineties: it's just a bit slower than that. And if you need to download anything, forget about it. The staff is very nice but there's nothing they can do, they say, about the internet.

Room Tip: The two story loft rooms are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

After some adventure travel on the South Island, we arrived very late on a Friday night at the Hotel DeBrett with our 9 year old dead asleep in our arms. Despite the late hour, the staff jumped to attention and worked quickly to get us checked in and moved into our beautiful suite. They made up our daughter's sofa bed with so many layers of frothy-looking linens that we couldn't decide who had the better bed. The quality of linens is exceptional, the entire hotel is very clean, the decor is outstanding and the location is ideal for tourists.

Some times hotels that provide the "hip" factor tend to neglect warmth and hospitality. Not so, though, at the Hotel Debrett. Every single person we dealt with there was anxious to help and had a cheerful demeanor. And, yes, it's also quite a hip place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollieboog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

DeBrett is a work of art. Decorating is interesting and so representative of NZ. Everything was done with style including the food - delicious. Thumbs way up!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $220 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing