We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Even before we arrived we knew that we were going to be well looked after as Therese provided local information and arranged car hire for us.
The accommodation was the best we stayed in on our NZ visit - good size bedroom with two comfortable seats and a desk and chair plus walk-in wardrobe and full bathroom all in superb condition. In addition to this there is a large communual lounge opening on to a balcony with views of the city.
The B&B is within walking distance of the city and also on a frequent bus route. A wide range of breakfast choices was available, none of which needed to be pre-ordered.
Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Go for the room with the walk-in wardrobe.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libraryfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 357 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Bart and Therese's and could not be happier. The location was excellent and very near the city. We drove there from the airport and found the place easily. There was secure and free on site parking (unlike many city hotels); and if you don't have a car. there is always the pubic transport on Parnell Street. Excellent views of the city and Auckland harbour from the condominium. It was so quiet at night, you could hear a pin drop. The gentle breeze was far better than an air conditioned hotel room. We were given the impeccable garden view apartment. Bart and Therese were wonderful hosts and we were made to feel at home right from the beginning. Bart's travel advice was invaluable. Breakfast was good solid fare ( the Belgian crepes were fantastic) with cheerful and interesting converstation with hosts and other guests - and not least the 2 Afghan Salukis. I'd return anytime!!

Esther - Sydney

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A lovely condominium subdivided into individual, en suite accomodations; wonderful and convenient location, beautiful views from the balcony, pleasant - light and airy - sitting room, and spacious, clean, and convenient rooms. The food was plentiful and very good. The off-street, indoor, and secure parking area is spotless, well-lit and easy to access; an unexpected and welcome plus. The hosts are charming and attentive. There was only one small matter, which will not necessarily be of concern to everyone; the establishment is not exactly, in a word, gemutlich (warm, casual, friendly). Because it is immaculate, and because the hosts are so very attentive and, understandably, concerned about their place, some people might not feel entirely relaxed, despite being repeatedly encouraged to be so. It is impossible not to be aware that one might disturb them in their own quarters (contiguous through an open archway at one end of the spacious floor). Upon arrival, one is shown how to open one’s suitcase properly on the suitcase racks provided (so as not to mar the walls), and carefully instructed where to find small trays with which to carry a cup of coffee or glass of wine (for sale only) from the common kitchen area back to one’s room. Yet there are drinks’ coasters on almost every flat surface, and one could fail to use them only if grossly negligent or malicious. One has the impression that every crumb falling will be noted and efficiently whisked away, almost before it hits the floor, it seems. Such precautions are entirely within the hosts’ rights of course, and one cannot blame them for diligently protecting what is, after all, their livelihood as well as their home. Many guests will probably appreciate the obvious pride, care and concern evinced by the hosts. Some guests, however, may find the undertones of the ambiance and the subtle air of anxiety a tiny bit stressful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakitEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsTres, Owner at Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear TakitEZ,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I guess that we are never too old to learn after having hosted 78,000 guests over the past 20 years.

We have taken note of your subtle suggestions and will take them to heart when hosting future guests, and we hope you will be among them too on a return trip. It is a pity you both arrived so late in the evening and only stayed one night, so you didn't have the time to get to know us a little better.

Running a successful and pristine b&b, with no stains on carpets, curtains, walls and doors, "as you will find in nearly every other Auckland accommodation", and continuing this standard for every guest 365 days in the year, comes from the small points of attention to detail, which we share with every new arrival. We also like to assist the guests with their luggage, as this helps with guest's comfort and use of all the spaces and closets in the room. (For example if I would not point this out guests would often leave their luggage in front of the closets making them not accessible.) It has been our experience over the past 20 years when not pointing out minor housekeeping suggestions as using trays for tea and wine and icy beverages, that the standard of quality and cleanliness in the house can quickly erode.

You are right in assuming that there is a very fine line between warm and welcoming hospitality and making minor house-use suggestions, in order to maintain the highest level of comfort and hygiene for all future guests.

We constantly strive for the highest levels of warm and friendly hospitality, while providing comfortable and ultra clean rooms, which nearly all our guests appreciate after having stayed elsewhere.

We realize that the line to keep an acceptable balance between warm hospitality and running a busy b&b can be a fine one.

Forgive us if we had subtly crossed that line inadvertently with you.

May I add that not everyone is as thoughtful and considered as you might be yourself.

Sincerely and best wishes,

Bart Blommaert
Owner
Ascot Parnell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

it's been our fourth visit ....Therese and Bart are magnificent hosts and we were lucky enough to join them to celebrate her birthday at Therese's request for dinner...well done hope to see you both again x

Room Tip: All the room are good
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adena9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This excellent, boutique bed and breakfast accommodation provided us with all we needed for a
forthcoming holiday in New Zealand. After our arrival by ship from Australia, the two nights we enjoyed with Bart and Therese helped us to explore Auckland, rent a car and plan a thorough
exploration of North Island. Our endorsement can be confirmed by the fact that we reserved our last night with Bart and Therese before our return to UK. We found them to be exceptional hosts,
anxious to please, and very conversant with all the marvellous attractions that New Zealand has
to offer. We are already thinking about a return to NZ which would start at Ascot Parnell.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent our last two nights at the Ascot Parnell B&B before flying home. Our hosts Bart and Therese are delightful, could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble and made sure we were comfortable. The suite was exceptional, the bed very comfortable and clean sheets every day! The gourmet breakfast menu was extensive and freshly prepared. Other services included the use of a computer, wifi, swimming pool, telephone calls within New Zealnd, tea / coffe and cookies. If you love dogs, their two Salikis are gorgeous. We would most certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ascot Parnell provides small suites within a large modern apartment in a fantastic location close to shops and restaurants. As a bonus the apartment has a huge balcony overlooking the city and harbour that we spent several evenings sitting out on.
The hosts, Bart and Therese, are courteous, professional and very helpful. We had many interesting chats with them and other guests over their amazing breakfasts.
Its not cheap but you are paying for quality.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pjh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 St Stephens Avenue | Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $176 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming b&b accommodation in a garden setting with city-skyline & harbour-views. A tranquil oasis with all Auckland attractions in easy walking distance. Spacious suites, personal service, Airport meet and greet, free-WiFi & free secure parking.Our B&B is the most centrally located Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Auckland. If you are here for holidays, a quiet getaway or on business, we offer the perfect relaxed place to stay in historic Parnell Village; located just 1 km next to downtown Auckland. Our contemporary home offers lodging in three spacious, thoughtfully furnished suites, each with a luxurious marble bathroom, all have either garden- or harbour-views, air-conditioning and iPod/iPad-dock. Guests can relax in the spacious guest-lounge or on the sunny-balcony with city sky-line and harbor-views. Sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are served by your hosts. You do not need to rent a car while staying here as everything is at your doorstep.Parnell Village with 50plus restaurants, The Parnell Rose Gardens, Vector Arena and The Auckland Museum are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing