We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY THE BEST! RAISED THE BAR IN PERFECTION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST! RAISED THE BAR IN PERFECTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Yes, the title is exactly what we found. This was the first place we stayed on a three-month journey and everywhere we were subsequent we rated it against our experience here. Bart and Therese keep this accommodation immaculate, spotless. Our room (harbour view) was enormous! The bath was amazing with heated flooring. Fuffy down comforter, writing desk, balcony overlooking Auckland, gardens, pool - we didn't want to leave. In fact, we asked for another night but no room so we were forced to explore the rest of NZ. We were spoiled. It didn't feel like the typical B&B but like family: lively conversations about driving in Auckland & doggie hugs. Very close to dining, walks to parks, marina and bus stops. Huge library full of books, brochures, you name it-it's there. If only there was a teleporter so we could zip there now for a visit. Sigh. WE LOVE YOU TWO

Room Tip: All are wonderful. Pick the harbour view one-it's more but HUGE and VIEWEY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipatroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
231
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are from the US and recently stayed with Bart and must say the experience was excellent and the facility and hosts were outstanding. Bart met us at the airport at 6:30 am and took us to the Ascot Parnell and we were able to check in and recover from the long flight before we ventured out to explore the area. Bart was very helpful with everything and a delight to talk with. We will stay here anytime we are in the area.

Room Tip: we had the the room with the best view which was well worth any extra fee .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRoeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed six nights with Bart and Therese in their beautifully appointed home and were made to feel so welcome, it felt more like catching up with old friends than checking into paid accommodation. This is B&B at its best. Our king bedroom suite featured its own sitting room with a brilliant view of the Auckland sky tower. The ensuite bathroom featured heated towel rails and underfloor heating. There was even a torch in the bedside table. The shared living area and balcony afforded views over the city and the port...perfect for enjoying a glass of wine before walking around the corner to one of the many dining establishments on offer in Parnell village. Breakfast was a great social occasion to compare notes with other guests ( max number of guests is six) and get tips from our hosts about where to go and what to see. We were able to park our hire car in the security car park but found the green loop bus great for a trip downtown to catch a ferry (it cost $1.90 and runs every ten minutes). The hearty three course breakfasts kept us sustained for the whole day. After fresh fruit and cereal, we had fun choosing different offerings from the cooked to order breakfast menu. Both Bart and Therese are great cooks. All dishes were beautifully presented and the ingredients were market fresh. We are so pleased we chose to stay at Ascot Parnell. It made our trip a much more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Attractive location near Parnell village

-----------------------------------------

Very good and friendly service

-----------------------------------------

Efficient airport pickup

--------------------------------------------

Excellent breakfast food

--------------------------------------------

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfreinhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We are kiwis with teenage sons in need of a weekend away. We chose Ascot because of it being a small luxury retreat. That is exactly what we got, with great proximity to Parnell and easy public transport to the city. We enjoyed leaving our car parked in the locked garage at Ascot and walking and using the bus to go out to dinner and the show we had booked at the Aotea Centre. Great breakfasts and interesting conversation with Bart and Therese in the lovely lounge and dining area. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've stayed in a number of B & B's in NZ & Australia and rate The Ascot in Parnell as our favourite.
Such friendly hosts, you feel right at home the moment you arrive. Plenty of space to relax in your own room or if you feel like a chat, Bart & Therese are happy to give you the drum on the best restaurants, cafes & whatever else is happening in Parnell, NZ or the World for that matter.
The Ascot breakfast is delightful; healthy, fresh, indulgent Oh, did I mention yum!
Obviously we enjoyed our stay and will do it all again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: "Pay a little extra and ask for the King room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Ascot Parnell and we loved it. The room was spacious, the bathroom was ultra-clean with underfloor heating and the breakfast was to die for. Ascot Parnell is run by a lovely couple who go all the way to make you feel at home. If you stay in Auckland, don't hesitate but choose Ascot Parnell, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelMangawhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
1.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 St Stephens Avenue | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming b&b accommodation in a garden setting with city-skyline & harbour-views. A tranquil oasis with all Auckland attractions in easy walking distance. Spacious suites, personal service, Airport meet and greet, free-WiFi & free secure parking.Our B&B is the most centrally located Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Auckland. If you are here for holidays, a quiet getaway or on business, we offer the perfect relaxed place to stay in historic Parnell Village; located just 1 km next to downtown Auckland. Our contemporary home offers lodging in three spacious, thoughtfully furnished suites, each with a luxurious marble bathroom, all have either garden- or harbour-views, air-conditioning and iPod/iPad-dock. Guests can relax in the spacious guest-lounge or on the sunny-balcony with city sky-line and harbor-views. Sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are served by your hosts. You do not need to rent a car while staying here as everything is at your doorstep.Parnell Village with 50plus restaurants, The Parnell Rose Gardens, Vector Arena and The Auckland Museum are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing