We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Driving in my car”

Ranked #101 of 264 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This driving route takes visitors roundtrip from Auckland through the island's scenic Northland region, offering beautiful views of coastlines and farmland.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Driving in my car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Forget the radio - the amazing sights along the way will keep you buzzing. Make sure you get tot he top and the lighthouse and where the oceans meet. You will need considerable time to drive as it is hilly and this slows the driving time. Don't rush, just enjoy the journey. Of a must is the ferry across the harbour along the western side of the highway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine40002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice enough but not a priority”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A nice way to spend a day but the towns along the route are not standouts. Lots of attractive countryside but NZ is full of this. Worth doing if you have an extended stay in Auckland but definitely not a priority.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StewWoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful way to travel - most of the time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We travelled on this highway, whenever the opportunity was there. Even in the dreadful weather that we experienced during our visit, we are still glad that we took this route, as we saw some beautiful beaches and scenery. Very slow going at times because it can get very windy but if time is not a problem, then do take this route, rather than the national highway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I drove on a sunday morning and literaly no trafic at all. very nice views, beautiful scanic valleys, lush green earth and clear sky a beautiful morning. Have extra 30 minits and drive at leisure to enjoy in full. One way try to avoid the toll road to see more beautiful lacations. Working days be careful, more trafic and road repair work is going on.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank selvan_koilpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A MUST DO trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Scenery awesome and diverse with big skies and big landscapes. Reminded me of the West Coast of Scotland on steroids!
Must visits - Bay of Islands, Russell, Paihai, Kawakawa (a slightly tired town, where all the locals smile and say hello! Also has a vintage railway running down the Main Street.) the 4000 year old trees on the west coast, Baylys (north of Dargaville) for driving on the vast beach and Gibbs Farm for landscape sculptures that can be viewed from scape! (One man's vision - Allan Gibbs vast farm with sculptures by some of the worlds top artists and designers incorporated into panoramic vistas. Viewing by appointment and strictly limited)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Coast Discovery Highway also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Twin Coast Discovery Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing